Skip to main content

*CVTC Library Policies: Collection Development Policy

Library Collection Development

Collection Development Policy

I.  PURPOSE & INTRODUCTION

Central to the core mission of the Library is the quality of its collection. The primary function of collection development activities at the Library is to build and maintain a Library collection in various formats to support the College curriculum, mission, and information needs of the students, staff, and faculty. Additionally, the Library strives to support the needs of faculty and staff in their work and research.

The collection development policy is a statement of principles, guidelines, and criteria used by Library staff in the selection, acquisition, evaluation, maintenance, and des-election of Library materials in a variety of formats.  The purpose of the collection development policy is to assist librarians in providing current, diverse, and balanced collections of materials to support the instructional, institutional and individual needs of students, staff, faculty, and other stakeholders.

II. COLLEGE MISSION

CVTC delivers innovative and applied education that supports the workforce needs of the region, improves the lives of students, and adds value to our communities.

III. LIBRARY MISSION

CVTC Library serves as College's premier information center by providing the necessary resources to all students, staff, and faculty of the College and also assisting our patrons in accessing, understanding, and successfully using these resources. 

The Library strives to meet the following goals to successfully serve the College's information needs:

  • Provide easy, reliable access to Library resources.
  • Provide authoritative information for College stakeholders.
  • Teach information literacy to all Library users through classroom instruction and/or program engagement.
  • Promote literacy to students to encourage life-long learning and critical thinking

IV. DESCRIPTION OF COLLEGE AND LIBRARY

Chippewa Valley Technical College is part of the Wisconsin Technical College System and serves an 11-county area. The largest campus is located in Eau Claire, with major regional campuses in Chippewa Falls, Menomonie, Neillsville, and River Falls. The College is one of 16 WTCS colleges located throughout the state.​​

CVTC Library is located within the Learning Center at the Eau Claire Business Education Center.  The Library makes every effort to ensure all CVTC’s locations and the greater community have access to its collections, with priority being placed on supporting the academic success of its student patrons.

V.  COLLECTION BUDGET

The Library receives funding from the College from tuition, local taxpayer monies, funds from CVTC Student Government Association and various grants to purchase or provide access to new materials in print, audio-visual, and electronic formats.  The acquisitions budget is determined by the Manager of Library Services and specific allocations are determined by taking into account circulation statistics, average book price, curriculum need, and various program accreditations.

This equation is reviewed annually for validity and appropriateness.  Separate, pre-determined budgets are maintained for the following materials:

  • Subscription resources including scholarly journals (electronic and print), electronic databases (containing journals, electronic films, and electronic books), newspapers, and magazines
  • Print-based physical materials including monographs, fiction/nonfiction books, reference materials, children's/young adult materials, and graphic novels
  • Audio-visual materials including DVDs, Blu-Rays, and software/CD-ROMs
  • Equipment for checkout including laptops, iPads, digital e-readers, headphones, calculators, cameras, camcorders, A/V accessories, etc.

VI. RESPONSIBILITY FOR COLLECTION DEVELOPMENT

Though the Manager of Library Services oversees all collection development activities, building and maintaining a high quality Library collection is the responsibility of all Library staff.

Because the Library has the responsibility of assuring a balanced, comprehensive, and timely collection of resources, have knowledge of the library budget, and can best judge the total collection, the final acquisition decisions will be the responsibility of Manager of Library Services.

VII. SELECTION GOALS

  • To provide materials that will enrich and support the curriculum, taking into consideration the varied interests, abilities and maturity levels of the students served.
  • To provide materials which represent various points of view on popular or controversial topics, so that students may develop the practice of critical reading and thinking.
  • To provide works which present the perspective and cultural beliefs of ethnic and other minority groups in the United States and of other cultures worldwide.
  • To provide materials which will encourage individual growth in factual knowledge, citizenship, literary appreciation, cultural and aesthetic values, and ethical standards.
  • To provide materials written at a level of sophistication appropriate to the user.
  • To provide materials which will encourage and promote literacy.
  • To provide materials which will encourage life-long, sustainable library use.
  • To support the mission, goals, and core abilities of the College and Library.

VIII. GENERAL GUIDELINES FOR SELECTION

A. Selection Procedure:

1. In selecting resources, Librarians will evaluate available resources according to the selection criteria, using one or more of the following resources:

     a) Professional, critical reviews in review journals such as Choice, Booklist, Library Journal and Counterpoise.

     b) Critical reviews in appropriate subject area periodicals, alternative periodicals, and online/Internet resources.

     c) Evaluation of the author and/or publisher when alternative or other material has not been reviewed.

     d) Recommendations of faculty, students, subject matter specialists, and community members.

     e) Previewing the resource.

B.  Selection Priorities:

1. Material will be acquired that is consistent with the mission of the Library, i.e. print and non-print items that support existing College programs.

2. Purchase priorities will be generally as follows:

     a) Material directly related to College programs that serve the students' reference and research needs.

     b) Materials spotlighting career goals, exploring employment opportunities, or self-improvement within the framework of the college.

     c) Support of faculty and staff in their work and research.

     d) Materials aimed at improving the mind, stretching one's horizons, or providing reading pleasure, but not directly supporting the curriculum.  

     e) Supplemental Reserve items requested by faculty and staff to supplement courses, workshops, seminars, etc.

C.  Additional Considerations:

1. Upcoming departmental accreditation reviews and addition of new academic programs may require special consideration.

2. Highly specialized titles, which are of interest to a limited number of users, are typically borrowed through interlibrary loan.

3. Selection is an ongoing process that includes the use of these guidelines to deselect titles that are no longer appropriate and to replace lost or worn titles that are still meeting the needs of patrons.

4. Withdrawn titles in usable condition will be disposed of in a suitable and appropriate manner based on the discretion of the Library in accordance with College policies and procedures.

IX.   POLICIES BY FORMAT

A. General Collection Books and Reference: 

In addition to consulting reviews from professional and popular sources, books will be evaluated using the following criteria: scope, treatment, authorship, relevance to collection, relation to other resources, format, currency, cost, special or unique features, and likelihood of use.

     1. Other guidelines: Materials that are lost, stolen, or never returned will be replaced as the Library’s budget allows. Materials that are no longer available may be replaced with similar titles. The Library may opt to purchase like-new or very good used replacement copies if a new book is not available and deemed relevant. The Library may choose to not replace a title if current or anticipated use does not justify the cost of replacement.

B.  Textbooks: 

Due to high cost and frequent revision, the Library generally does not purchase textbooks. Provided funds are available, exceptions can be made for textbooks that are the only source of information on a topic or recommended by faculty as an exceptional resource. Instructional departments and programs are encouraged to submit a copy of their relevant course textbook to be placed on Reserve for student use.  At the discretion of the selector, textbooks may be added to the general collection when removed from the Reserve collection.  Workbooks without accompanying texts will not be added to the collection unless specifically requested by the instructor.

C.  Print Periodicals:

Selection of periodical titles will be determined by the general criteria used in the selection of all materials.  In addition, full-text availability in one of the library’s subscription databases will be a factor in the selection of print subscriptions.  Selectors are responsible for recommending print periodicals that support the curriculum in their subject area.  The Manager of Library Services is responsible for managing the selection and de-selection of print periodicals.  Serial subscriptions will be evaluated for renewal annually, taking into account circulation statistics and cost-per-use.  Titles that are available in Library databases or the Internet will not be purchased in print.  The Library will attempt to provide online access to titles whenever available if the cost can be managed within the Library’s budget. Effective July 1, 2015 the Library will no longer purchase, renew, or facilitate the procurement of serials that are considered non-return items. This includes all items that are not inventoried or barcoded by Library staff and any items that are not made to the entire Library patron base. 

D.  Electronic Journals/Databases: 

Licensed online resources are a significant part of the Library’s collection and account for the largest aspect of the collection budget.  Due to considerable ongoing cost, selection of these resources is carefully considered.

E.  Audiovisual: 

As with print resources, library staff selects audiovisual materials according to annual subject and budget allocations. The same basic guidelines apply to AV as monographs with some additional criteria.  In addition to the general selection guidelines for other formats, consideration should also be given the format’s compatibility with equipment owned by school, the lifespan of the technology, the suitability of the format, a title’s production quality, and faculty recommendation. Recreational AV materials may be purchased when the budget allows and the library sees fit. All audiovisual materials are cataloged as part of the Library collection and as thus, made available to all Library patrons for use.

F.  Multiple Copies

The Library’s budget does not allow us to purchase everything needed to support teaching and research, and Library space is always limited; therefore duplication will be held to a minimum. Multiple copies will be acquired for titles in heavy, continuous use, or that are unavailable or difficult to procure via interlibrary loan.

X. GIFTS

A. General:

The Library accepts gift material with the understanding that the Library, at its discretion, will only add items to the collection that meet its needs.  Gift materials will be judged by the same selection guidelines as purchased material.

Additional criteria for accepting gifts include specific age restrictions and condition of book.  Typically, nonfiction books must be less than five years old; computer books must be less than two years old.  There is no age restriction for fiction.  Books must be in good condition with no sign of mildew, bugs, or excess wear and tear.  Books that do not meet these guidelines will be disposed of in accordance to the Library de-selection procedures.

On request, a donation form will be given to the donor to acknowledge receipt of the gift. Internal Revenue Service regulations prohibit the Library from providing appraisals of gifts or endorsing their value. The law places upon the donor the responsibility to establish the fair market value of an item contributed to a charity, but a formal appraisal is not always necessary. Any appraisals done must be completed before the gift is accepted by the Library. For more information, see IRS Publication 561 "Determining the Value of Donated Property".

The Library reserves the right to dispose of duplicate and unwanted material.  Disposal may be by direct sale, by gifts to other libraries, by discard, or other appropriate means in accordance to College policies and procedures.

B.  Gifts to Library Staff:

Individual Library staff cannot accept valuable gifts or any form of currency for the services they provide as Library staff. Appreciative patrons are encouraged to make contributions to the Library as a whole, or provide a gift that all staff can enjoy equally. This policy is to ensure that staff will treat all members of the public equally, and that no preferential treatment is shown or expected.

C.  Receipts:

The Library can provide receipts for gifts only in the following cases:

  • Cash or check donations: a receipt will be sent in the form of a letter stating the amount donated.
  • Gifts of Appreciated Assets: a receipt will be sent in the form of a letter describing the assets. The donor is responsible for assigning and documenting monetary value for tax purposes.
  • All other donations: a receipt will be given only at the time of the donation, if requested. The receipt will list the number and type of donation only. The donor is responsible for assigning and documenting monetary value for tax purposes.

The Library cannot give receipts for previously donated material.

XI. WEEDING / DESELECTION

Weeding the collection by discarding materials is as important in maintaining a useful collection as is the careful selection of new materials. The Manager of Library Services will direct the ongoing weeding process, which will generally be carried out by Library staff. The Library collection is intended to be a useful, working resource, not an archival or museum collection. Obsolete and inappropriate materials occupy expensive storage space, distract from other current materials containing important information, and may in fact provide students with information which is no longer accurate. Generally, material which is outdated, little used and/or in poor condition will be discarded. Faculty members are welcome to identify materials which should be discarded for the above reasons. Where a book plate has been added to the inside cover of a book (or if the book is a part of a special collection) the Manager of Library Services will make the final weeding decision.

Materials weeded from the Library collection will be disposed of as the Library determines appropriate including by direct sale, by gifts to other libraries, by discard, or other appropriate means in accordance with College policies and procedures. 

XII. QUESTIONED OR CHALLENGED MATERIAL

An Academic Library must be a forum for free exchange of ideas in the student's pursuit of knowledge. With this in mind, the Library will make available to its users materials offering the widest variety of viewpoints regardless of the popularity of subject or author.  Persons objecting to material in the Library collection should refer to the Materials Reconsideration Policy for further information.

XIII. POLICY REVIEW

The Library Collection Development policy will be reviewed and updated as necessary by the Manager of Library Services and designated Library staff. The purpose of the review is to consider whether existing collection goals are being met and to examine any changes in defined goals and user needs. Changes will be made to the policy when appropriate.

Semester Learning Center Hours


Monday - Thursday

7:30 am - 8:00 pm

Friday

7:30 am - 5:00 pm

Saturday

9:00 am - 3:00 pm


Library Help

Questions? Need Help?

Contact a librarian:

library@cvtc.edu

715-833-6285

Or stop by the Library Desk