Skip to main content

*CVTC Library Policies: Materials Reconsideration Policy

Challenging a Library Item

Materials Reconsideration Policy

The resources and materials provided by the Library are selected in accordance with the Library's Collection Development Policy to meet the teaching, research, and service needs of the CVTC community. It is the responsibility of the Library to ensure that different points of view are represented in the materials and resources provided in the Library collections.  Inclusion of a particular resource does not constitute endorsement or advocacy of the ideas or statements found therein.   

The Library adheres to the principles of intellectual freedom outlined in the Library Bill of Rights of the American Library Association (Appendix 1) and further explicated in the Freedom to Read Statement (Appendix 2), The Freedom to View Statement (Appendix 3) and the Intellectual Freedom Principles for Academic Libraries (Appendix 4).  Pursuant to these, the Library will not automatically withdraw duly selected materials from the library collections in response to a request from an individual or group. 

The following procedures have been adopted for the handling of formal requests for reconsideration of materials in the Library's collections:

  • Formal requests for reconsideration of materials should be submitted in writing to the Manager of Library Services using the Request for Reconsideration of Library Materials form (Appendix 5), available upon request at all library circulation desks. The Request for
  • Reconsideration of Library Materials form must be completed in full.
  • Receipt of the completed form will be acknowledged in writing by the Manager of Library Services.
  • The Manager of Library Services will appoint an ad hoc committee to review the request.  The committee will comprise the the Library staff member(s) responsible for selecting materials in the subject area in question, and, if deemed appropriate, faculty in the subject field and/or an outside administrator.
  • The ad hoc committee will review the request and submit a report and recommendation to the Manager of Library Services within two (2) weeks of receipt of the completed request form. 
  • The Manager of Library Services will make a final determination on an appropriate response.
  • The person initiating the Request for Reconsideration will be notified in writing by the Manager of Library Services of the decision and of any further action to be taken.  This notification will be delivered within thirty (30) days of receipt of the completed request form.
  • Should the person initiating the request not be satisfied with the decision of the Manager of Library Services, he/she may appeal the decision.
  • Any appeals will go first to the Dean of Academic Development and Services and other relevant College administrators.
  • The material under reconsideration will remain in the collection during the course of the review and any appeal. 

In evaluating Library materials in response to a Request for Reconsideration, the ad hoc committee will:

  • Determine how the material under review relates to the Libraries’ Collection Development Policy, and the policies and principles set out in the ALA Library Bill of Rights, The Freedom to Read Statement, the Freedom to View Statement and the Intellectual Freedom Principles for Academic Libraries.
  • Prepare a brief report on Library holdings in the subject area in question, to be used as an aid in determining appropriate action.
  • Consult, as necessary, with other experts in the subject field (faculty or others) as part of the process.
  • Invite the person initiating the Request for Reconsideration to meet with the committee to ensure that the nature of the request is fully understood.

Subsequent to its reconsideration of the material, the committee may recommend one or more of the following actions:

  • That the material in question be reclassified and shelved in a more appropriate part of the collection.
  • That the Library strengthen their holdings in the subject area in question to ensure a balanced collection representing a variety of viewpoints.
  • That the challenged material be removed from the collection as it is no longer within the scope of the Library's collection.
  • That no action be taken.

Appendix 1: Library Bill of Rights

Appendix 2: The Freedom to Read Statement

Appendix 3: The Freedom to View Statement

Appendix 4: Intellectual Freedom Principles for Academic Libraries

Appendix 5: CVTC Library Materials Reconsideration Form

Semester Learning Center Hours


Monday - Thursday

7:30 am - 8:00 pm

Friday

7:30 am - 5:00 pm

Saturday

9:00 am - 3:00 pm


Library Help

Questions? Need Help?

Contact a librarian:

library@cvtc.edu

715-833-6285

Or stop by the Library Desk