Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library Print Books
Click on the book cover to Request a title!
Customer Service Skills for Success by Customer Service Skills for Success by Robert W. Lucas is the top-selling customer service textbook in the United States. Customer Service Skills for Success 6e addresses real-world customer service issues and provides a variety of updated resources, activities, examples and tips from the author and active professionals in the industry to gain and hold readers’ interest while providing insights into the concepts and skills related to customer service. The text begins with a macro view of what customer service involves today and provides projections for the future then focuses on specific skills and related topics. The sixth edition of Customer Service Skills for Success contains 10 chapters divided into three parts, plus the Appendix, Glossary, and Bibliography. These parts focus on different aspects of customer service: (1) The Profession, (2) Skills for Success, and (3) Building and Maintaining Relationships. Along with valuable ideas, guidance, and perspectives, readers will also encounter interviews of real-world service providers, case study scenarios and activities to help you apply concepts learned to real-world situations in order to challenge your thinking on the issues presented.
Call Number: HF5415.5 .L83 2015
Publication Date: 2014
Uncommon Service by Most companies treat service as a low-priority business operation, keeping it out of the spotlight until a customer complains. Then service gets to make a brief appearance - for as long as it takes to calm the customer down and fix whatever foul-up jeopardized the relationship. InUncommon Service, Frances Frei and Anne Morriss show how, in a volatile economy where the old rules of strategic advantage no longer hold true, service must become a competitive weapon, not a damage-control function. That means weaving service tightly into every core decision your company makes. The authors reveal a transformed view of service, presenting an operating model built on tough choices organizations must make: *How do customers define "excellence” in your offering? Is it convenience? Friendliness? Flexible choices? Price? *How will you get paid for that excellence? Will you charge customers more? Get them to handle more service tasks themselves? *How will you empower your employees to deliver excellence? What will your recruiting, selection, training, and job design practices look like? What about your organizational culture? *How will you get your customers to behave? For example, what do you need to do to get them to treat your employees with respect? Do you need to make it easier for them to use new technology? Practical and engaging,Uncommon Service makes a powerful case for a new and systematic approach to service as a means of boosting productivity, profitability, and competitive advantage.
Call Number: HF5414.5 .F728 2012
Publication Date: 2012
When Customers Talk... by What do customers really want? Not all retailers are in the habit of listening when customers talk. They can do better, according to master customer service speaker, author, and consultant T. Scott Gross. In fact, research shows that unhappy customers talk about negative experiences for an average of 18 months. Once they have a bad experience, it will take 12 positive experiences to make up for it. However, if a complaint is resolved, count on an intensely loyal customer. Gross partners with consumer researcher Joe Pilotta from BIGresearch to draw conclusions for frontline retailers and managers based on the insights of 100,000 retail customers. This approachable, must-have guide offers detailed insights to help retailers learn how to anticipate customer needs and take advantage of emerging trends.
Call Number: HF5415.5 .G762 2005
Publication Date: 2004
Customers for Life by In this completely revised and updated edition of the customer service classic (more than 600,000 copies sold), Carl Sewell enhances his time-tested advice with fresh ideas and new examples and explains how the groundbreaking “Ten Commandments of Customer Service” apply to today’s world. Drawing on his incredible success in transforming his Dallas Cadillac dealership into the second largest in America, Carl Sewell revealed the secret of getting customers to return again and again in the original Customers for Life. A lively, down-to-earth narrative, it set the standard for customer service excellence and became a perennial bestseller. Building on that solid foundation, this expanded edition features five completely new chapters, as well as significant additions to the original material, based on the lessons Sewell has learned over the last ten years. Sewell focuses on the expectations and demands of contemporary consumers and employees, showing that businesses can remain committed to quality service in the fast-paced new millennium by sticking to his time-proven approach: Figure out what customers want and make sure they get it. His “Ten Commandants” provide the essential guidelines, including: • Underpromise, overdeliver: Never disappoint your customers by charging them more than they planned. Always beat your estimate or throw in an extra service free of charge • No complaints? Something’s wrong: If you never ask your customers what else they want, how are you going to give it to them? • Measure everything: Telling your employees to do their best won’t work if you don’t know how they can improve • Borrow, borrow, borrow: Sewell, for example, learned about hospitality from Japanese culture, cleanliness from Disney, and politeness from his mother.
Call Number: HF5415.5 .S49 2002
Publication Date: 2002
Click on the book cover to View the title online!
Customer Care Excellence by Customer loyalty is essential to the long term financial success of your business, but with more choice then ever before, customers today have high expectations of the products and services they use. To continue to meet - and even to exceed - these high expectations, you need a top notch customer services system in place, and Customer Care Excellence will enable you to achieve just that. In clear, practical language, this book takes you through how you can develop and sustain a customer-service focus within your company. Emphasizing both strategic and practical aspects of customer care, Customer Care Excellence explains how gaining customer commitment and motivating employees to deliver an excellent service at all your company's touch points can ensure successful results and satisfied customers. This fully revised and updated edition includes new material examining the impact of social networking on customer behaviour and the emotional connection customers have with the brand, explaining how you can create a memorable customer experience. Author Sarah Cook takes you through the practical steps necessary to create a culture of customer focus and, crucially, shows how employee engagement leads to customer engagement.
Publication Date: 2011
Effective Customer Care by Effective Customer Care is an essential guide to creating excellent customer service that will not only satisfy your customers and prompt orders, but also cement customer relationships and develop loyalty... and thus increase profits. You will find out what really goes through a customer's mind when they look to purchase a product or service, and what might turn them away without you even realising it. If you have to handle complaints or problem solve you will be shown a robust and systematic approach to reduce these occurrences. In servicing your customer you will often need to get cooperation from others within your organisation, be it members of your team or those in other departments. Effective Customer Care will show you how to do this. And finally, you will learn how to ensure that you keep your customers loyal, and build an ongoing business relationship with them. Pat Wellington includes every aspect of the customer care process including how to: understand what the customer wants, not what you think they want; stop losing business and gain market share; motivate team members to offer a value added service to customers; improve the level of service offered; get a better level of service from internal customers and build long term relationships with customers and suppliers. It is written without jargon and includes international case studies from UK, Scandinavia, USA the Gulf and Singapore.
Publication Date: 2010
Calming Upset Customers, Fourth Edition by When a customer is upset with your company, you have an opportunity. You can a become the company,a defuse the situation, win the customer over, and ensure continued business. Thata s a lot. But anyone can learn the skills that are necessary. There is no single technique for every customer, but the collection of skills outlined here will work in any industry.
Publication Date: 2009
Quality Customer Service, Fifth Edition by Whether your customer is across the country or across the hall, understanding and meeting their needs is the first and last step to success. External customers drive sales and growth. Internal customers are the key to efficiency and profitability. We can all contribute to the success of our organization by winning over customers with superior products and delivering outstanding customer service.
Publication Date: 2009
Telephone Courtesy and Customer Service, Fourth Edition by We all depend on phones every day, and we each have different phone styles. But few people realize how essential proper telephone techniques are to business. The fact is: telephone skills are critical to quality customer service. Learn how to represent your company and satisfy the needs of customers at the same time through effective use of this important business tool.
Publication Date: 2009
SuperSTAR Customer Service by Without loyal customers, a business doesna t exist. Therefore, the true purpose of every business is to create the highest level of customer satisfaction and loyalty. Simply put, Customers Are Really Everythinga C.A.R.E. Learn the five Moments of Magic to achieving SuperSTAR customer service and how to manage each consistently. The time is now.
Publication Date: 2009