It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Information Ethics & Legal Issues: Course Resources
This guide provides a select list of required and supplemental course resources for Info Ethics & Legal Issues.
True Stories of Censorship Battles in America's Libraries by Nye & BarcoIntellectual freedom is a core value of librarianship, but fighting to keep controversial materials on the shelves can sometimes feel like a lonely battle. And not all censorship controversies involve the public objecting to a book in the collection-libraries are venues for displays and meetings, and sometimes library staff themselves are tempted to preemptively censor a work. Those facing censorship challenges can find support and inspiration in this book, which compiles dozens of stories from library front lines. Edifying and enlightening, this collection Tells the stories of several librarians who withstood difficult circumstances to champion intellectual freedom Touches on prickly issues such as age-appropriateness, some librarians temptation to preemptively censor, sensitive cultural expressions, and criminality in the library Presents case studies of defenses that were unsuccessful, so librarians facing similar challenges can learn from these defeats There are fewer situations more stressful in a librarians professional life than being personally confronted with a demand to remove a book from the shelves or not knowing how to respond to other kinds of censorship challenges. Reading this book will help fortify and inform those in the fray.
Publication Date: 2011
Scales on Censorship by ScalesPat Scales has been a passionate advocate for intellectual freedom long before she launched the Scales on Censorship column with School Library Journal in 2006. Decades of experience as a school librarian informs her ongoing work on these important and often volatile issues, as did her tenure in leadership roles on the American Library Association s Intellectual Freedom Committee and at the Freedom To Read Foundation. It also earned her a place among the inaugural list of Library Journal s Movers
LinkedIn LearningThis link opens in a new windowOnline learning platform with over 13,000 courses taught by real-world experts. Includes Lynda.com content.
Selected Print Titles (Available in the Library)
Intellectual Freedom Manual by Office for Intellectual FreedomLibraries, havens for the free exchange of ideas and information, face wide-ranging challenges relating to privacy and censorship from government, special interest groups, and others. With the updated seventh edition of the Intellectual Freedom Manual, librarians have practical support at hand to address these troubling problems. This bible for intellectual freedom includes the most up-to-date intellectual freedom guidelines, policies, and interpretations of the Library Bill of Rights, along with the ALA Code of Ethics and Freedom to Read Statement. Eight newly Amended policies include: Access for Children and Young Adults to Nonprint Materials; Access to Electronic Information, Services, and Networks; Access to Library Resources and Services Regardless of Sex, Gender Identity, or Sexual Orientation; Access to Resources and Services in the School Library Media Program; Exhibit Spaces and Bulletin Boards; Free Access to Libraries for Minors; Labels and Rating Systems; and Restricted Access to Library Materials. Intimidation; The Freedom to Read Statement; and the Policy Concerning Confidentiality of Information about Library Users. New articles from leading experts address timely issues. Now, like never before, libraries must stand strong as beacons of intellectual freedom for all. ALA's Intellectual Freedom Manual provides the answers they need.
Call Number: Z711.4 .I61 2006
Publication Date: 2005
Banned in the U. S. A. by Herbert N. FoerstelSince the first edition was published to acclaim and awards in 1994, librarians have relied on the work of noted intellectual freedom authority Herbert N. Foerstel. This expanded edition presents a thorough analysis of the current state of book banning in schools and public libraries, offering ready reference material on major incidents, legal cases, and annotated entries on the most frequently challenged books. Every section of this work has been significantly rewritten, updated, or expanded to reflect those developments. In-depth accounts of three new landmark book banning incidents are featured, along with a discussion of recent Supreme Court decisions involving censorship on the Internet and in book publishing, and a consideration of their implications for book banning in schools and public libraries. Two new interviews with authors of banned books--David Guterson and Leslea Newman--join the interviews with authors profiled in the first edition, many of which have been updated. The heart of the book is a Survey of Banned Books, revised with annotated entries on the 50 most frequently challenged books for 1996 through 2000; the Harry Potter series tops the list. Finally, all new appendixes feature an updated ALA list of Most Frequently Challenged Books and Authors Through 2000 and graphs that help to clarify key information.
Call Number: Z658 .U5 F654 2002
Publication Date: 2002
Case Studies in Library and Information Science Ethics by Buchanan et. al.This valuable casebook, written specifically for library and information science professionals, presents 125 case studies that combine theories of ethics and librarianship with practical, real-life scenarios. After an introduction on ethics in library and information science, chapters are devoted to ethical issues in five categories: intellectual freedom, privacy, intellectual property, professional ethics, and intercultural information ethics.Every chapter contains a theoretical introduction followed by 25 case studies, each of which includes its own set of discussion questions and references. Readers will most likely be familiar with the concepts, professional considerations, and ethical issues related to the case studies in the first four categories, while the still-emerging realm of intercultural information ethics illustrates the evolving nature of library and information work from a global perspective. Perfectly suited to classroom use, these case studies help bridge the complicated gap between students, academics, and practitioners in the field, by promoting critical thinking and responsible action.
Call Number: Z682.35 .P75 B83 2009
Publication Date: 2008
Censorship by BauderThe essays in this anthology provide contrasting views on the use of censorship and the limits of free speech. A question-and-response format prompts readers to examine complex issues from multiple angles. Topics such as censorship in schools and the censoring of information which could be a threat to national security are examined from multiple viewpoints, giving the reader an inclusive view of both sides of the argument. Important facts, perfect for report writing, are dispersed throughout in boxed insets.
Call Number: Z658.U5 C395 2007
Publication Date: 2007
Censorship by FriedmanLearning the fundamental principles of essay writing is becoming an ever more important skill for students. In 2005 the SAT gave its stamp to this initiative by adding an essay requirement to the popular college entrance exam. Each book in Greenhaven Press's Writing the Critical Essay: An Opposing Viewpoints Guide includes everything necessary to help students research, outline, draft, edit, and ultimately write successful essays across the curriculum. Using the patented Opposing Viewpoints format, this book focuses on writing an expository essay. Exposition is a frequently used essay technique for writing persuasive, informational, and how-to essays. Readers will find useful information to write a successful expository essay, including thesis statements, introductions, and conclusions. In addition, readers will find information to compile a source cited list using MLA style. Book jacket.