Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Monday - Thursday | 7:30 am - 8 pm
Friday | 7:30 am - 5 pm
Saturday | 9 am - 3 pm
Sunday | Closed
Closed during College-observed holidays
Effective August 30-December 20, 2021
Library Technology Checkout
Get the technology you need to get your work done!
CVTC Library checks out:
- Study Rooms
- DSLR Cameras
More information or Make a Reservation
Helpful Organizational Leadership Related Databases
What is a Database?
Great question! Think of a database as a file cabinet. In this file cabinet there are lots of files and each one contains a different resource or piece of information. When you search a database, you are searching thousands of resources for information that relates to what you type in the search box (like Google, just more credible).
These databases will help you in your search!
Click on any of the blue headings below to search a databases.
eBook Academic Collection (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
This growing database contains over 170,000 multidisciplinary e-books representing a broad range of academic subjects.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text regional business publications for the United States and Canadian provinces. Users can search newspapers, magazines and other resources from trusted news sources.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
This database offers over 40,000 titles. It's super easy to use and can help put your topic in perspective or serve as a secondary source.
Ebsco (All Ebsco Databases & E-Books) This link opens in a new window
Most popular CVTC database! EBSCO offers thousands of e-books, scholarly journals and articles, most are full-text and peer-reviewed. Easy to search!
Remember to think about the following when choosing a topic!
- Who/what organization is responsible for this information?
- What are the author's credentials or qualifications? What makes him/her an authority on this subject?
- What is the organization's mission? Do they tell you?
- If you can't find the answers to these questions, you may want to avoid using the source.
- What makes this source of information credible?
- What is the review or editorial process that the information has gone through to ensure accuracy? None? Peer-reviewed? Editorial board?
- Why was this information source created? To Inform or educate? To Persuade? To Sell? To Entertain? To call people to action?
- Is there a potential for bias? Are differing viewpoints presented? In a balanced way?
- Where did the information come from?
- Does the author tell you the source of his/her information? Are sources cited so that you can follow-up and verify them?
- If the source is a brief report on a research finding or event, can you find an original or more complete source of information on which it is based?
- When was the information created/published?
- If dates are given, can you tell what they mean? Published? Revised? First posted?
- Can you determine if the information is current or outdated? Is it important that the information is recent?
- How do you plan to use this information?
- Do you need an authoritative source? Do you need an objective source? Do you need a testimonial to support a particular argument?
- How in-depth is the information? Does it provide enough detailed information for a college level research paper?
What are Primary & Secondary Sources?
PRIMARY SOURCE is a document or record containing firsthand information or original data on a topic. Primary sources are usually created by individuals who experienced the event and recorded or wrote about it.
Common examples of primary sources include:
- Letters, Diaries, Memoirs, Speeches, Newspapers written at time of event
- Court cases, Manuscripts, Patents, Audio/Visual Recordings, Census Figures
- Photographs, Artwork, Artifacts, Maps
- Original research studies
- Interviews and Oral Histories
SECONDARY SOURCE is one that was created later by someone that did not experience firsthand or participate in the events in which the author is writing about. Secondary sources often summarize, interpret, analyze or comment on information found in primary sources.
Common examples of secondary sources include:
- Most Books, Biographies, Essays
- Encyclopedias, Literary Criticisms
- Journal articles that do not present new research
Citations in a Nutshell...
- Have a citation style book or web page handy.
- Be consistent when citing your sources.
- Librarians and Academic Services are here to help!
A free cloud-based program that automatically cites your sources, stores your articles, and can be shared with anyone you allow.