Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text is the leading full-text database for criminal justice research. It offers an essential collection of journals for students and scholars researching criminal justice and criminology.
Are you facing a legal issue, or just looking for more information about a specific legal topic? FindLaw offers accessible information to enable everyone to better understand the law, make more informed legal decisions, and find quality legal help.
More titles can be found by searching the library catalog
Juvenile Justice by Donald J. Shoemaker; Timothy W. WolfeAuthoritative, current, and easy to use, this book is an outstanding resource for readers looking to gain an accurate and thorough understanding of American juvenile justice. Juvenile delinquency has been of interest to the general public and academic scholars for many decades--and it has been an ongoing societal problem for the same amount of time. Delinquency covers a range of behaviors from minor offenses, such as trespassing or vandalism, to the more serious crimes often associated with gangs that include murder. Juvenile Justice: A Reference Handbook puts juvenile justice under the microscope, surveying its long history and key issues, exploring the myriad of problems and controversies tied to the juvenile justice system, and explains how policymakers and legal professionals have tried to solve these vexing issues. The book first presents historical and contemporary discussions of juvenile justice, especially in the United States. The next chapters address problems, controversies, and possible solutions for juvenile justice; present insightful, diverse perspectives from leading experts; and profile important figures in the juvenile justice system and the field of crime and delinquency. The book also contains data and primary documents that show who gets processed through the juvenile justice system and for what kinds of criminal acts. * Presents historical and contemporary data in an easy-to-understand fashion that survey the complex history of the juvenile justice system and allow readers to better comprehend the key issues * Includes a perspectives chapter that enables readers to hear voices from individuals with different backgrounds who are concerned with juvenile justice * Provides an ideal resource for general readers who want to learn more about the history and current events concerning juvenile justice as well as students without previous background knowledge of the subject * Contains a chronology of key moments in the history of juvenile justice in the United States as well as a glossary of key terms and definitions to guide the reader
Call Number: HV9104 .S448 2016
Publication Date: 2016-01-18
Justice Statistics by Shana Hertz-HattisBernan Press is pleased to present its first-ever comprehensive collection of justice statistics in the United States. This volume provides valuable information compiled by the Department of Justice, including its subsidiaries, the Bureau of Justice Statistics and the Federal Bureau of Investigation. Justice Statistics: An Extended Look at Crime in the United States is a special edition of Crime in the United States. It brings together nine key reports that fall under this category. Topics covered include capital punishment, rape and sexual assault among college-age women, correctional populations, crime in the United States, hate crimes, probation, parole, and law enforcement officers killed and assaulted. Tables in this volume provide a comprehensive account of each of these subjects. Each section contains statistical tables and figures highlighting the data, as well as a brief summary of the report's methodology and at-a-glance highlights of the most compelling information.
Call Number: OVER HV6787 .J87 2015
Publication Date: 2015-10-27
Criminal Justice by Steven P. Lab; Marian R. Williams; Jefferson E. Holcomb; Melissa W. Burek; William R. King; Michael E. BuergerCriminal Justice: The Essentials is an innovative alternative to large, overwhelming texts that attempt to cover every conceivable issue, a goal that cannot realistically be accomplished in a single academic term. Ideal for introductory courses in criminal justice, this volume covers all thefundamental issues faced by law enforcement, the courts, corrections, and juvenile justice, but leaves detailed specifics and tangential topics to the discretion of instructors to cover in class. This approach provides instructors with a great deal of flexibility in orienting their courses, as theycan use whatever supplementary materials they feel are most suitable. Each chapter covers the background, current issues and problems, and operational challenges of the subject area. All important materials are incorporated into the normal flow of the text, with abundant examples, but a minimum ofsidebars and "highlights." Therefore, students are not forced to sift through encyclopedic amounts of material in order to determine what is the most significant, since only the essentials are presented. Timely data and current examples sustain student interest. The text is also supplemented by aCompanion Website and an Instructor's Manual.
Call Number: HV9950 .C743249 2008
Publication Date: 2007-08-09
Criminal Justice Ethics by Cyndi BanksIn the Third Edition of Criminal Justice Ethics, author Cyndi Banks once again examines the criminal justice system through an ethical lens identifying ethical issues in practice and in theory, exploring ethical dilemmas, and proposing means through which criminal justice professionals might resolve ethical issues and dilemmas. The text adopts a critical perspective in the sense that the constituent parts of the criminal justice system are scrutinized within a framework where questions are raised about moral and ethical conduct and standards. Readers are drawn into a unique discussion of ethical issues by exploring moral dilemmas faced by professionals in the criminal justice system first, then presented with and examination of the major theoretical foundations of ethics. This distinct organization allows readers to understand real life ethical issues before grappling with philosophical approaches to the resolution of those issues.
Call Number: HV7419 .B36 2013
Publication Date: 2012-03-12
More titles can be found by searching the library catalog
From Retribution to Public Safety by William R. Kelly; Robert Pitman (As told to); William Streusand (As told to)Over the past fifty years, American criminal justice policy has had a nearly singular focus - the relentless pursuit of punishment. Punishment is intuitive, proactive, logical, and simple. But the problem is that despite all of the appeal, logic, and common sense, punishment doesn't work. The majority of crimes committed in the United States are by people who have been through the criminal justice system before, many on multiple occasions. There are two issues that are the primary focus of this book. The first is developing a better approach than simple punishment to actually address crime-related circumstances, deficits and disorders, in order to change offender behavior, reduce recidivism, victimization and cost. And the second issue is how do we do a better job of determining who should be diverted and who should be criminally prosecuted. From Retribution to Public Safety develops a strategy for informed decision making regarding criminal prosecution and diversion. The authors develop procedures for panels of clinical experts to provide prosecutors with recommendations about diversion and intervention. This requires a substantial shift in criminal procedure as well as major reform to the public health system, both of which are discussed in detail. Rather than ask how much punishment is necessary the authors look at how we can best reduce recidivism. In doing so they develop a roadmap to fix a fundamentally flawed system that is wasting massive amounts of public resources to not reducing crime or recidivism.
Publication Date: 2017-05-25
People with Mental Illness in the Criminal Justice System by Group for the Advancement of Psychiatry; Committee on Committee on Psychiatry and the CommunityWritten by a committee of the Group for the Advancement of Psychiatry, People With Mental Illness in the Criminal Justice System: Answering a Cry for Help represents the collective wisdom of leaders in community psychiatry and is the third in a series of successful publications that have used Dear Abby letters as source material. The letters, submitted by readers with experience with mental illness and the criminal justice system, constitute a rich, real-world repository for the case stories presented in this fascinating volume. Using the experiences shared in the letters, the authors employ the Sequential Intercept Model to present a series of chapters offering detailed recommendations for psychiatrists, group practices, and criminal justice entities on partnering with individuals who are at risk and their families, with the goal of improving outcomes. The book's many features and functions make it relevant to a diverse audience: * The Dear Abby letters on which the book's stories are based are heartfelt and human, providing a depth of emotion and understanding that cannot be found elsewhere, and the down-to-earth writing style and real-world material are designed to be useful and compelling to both practitioner and layperson.* The case-based recommendations for effective interventions are very specific and practical to promote and enhance clinical skill development. * A robust set of appendices presents information for professionals on a variety of critically important topics, including principles for criminal justice and community psychiatry; sequential intercept mapping; stages of engagement with the criminal justice system; HIPAA regulations; screening and mental status/criminal justice history; essential systems of care; and the risk-need-responsivity model.* An extensive section of criminal justice/mental health online resources addresses areas such as law enforcement, courts, corrections, evidence-based practices, veterans, organizations, and miscellaneous topics, providing avenues of information and assistance for individuals, families, and clinicians. This simple, evidence-based guide challenges psychiatrists to initiate changes in their clinical work; in the operation of their agencies, programs, and teams; and in their partnerships with local criminal justice and behavioral health providers to positively impact people with behavioral health conditions in the criminal justice system. Implementing the approaches described so eloquently in People With Mental Illness in the Criminal Justice System: Answering a Cry for Help can potentially reduce the overrepresentation of people with mental illnesses in justice settings, provide alternatives to incarceration, and divert individuals who do not pose a public safety risk from jail.
Publication Date: 2016-03-22
Criminal Justice by Peter JoyceThis new and expanded edition builds upon material from the highly successful first edition. A comprehensive textbook on the criminal justice system, the book assesses the main theories concerned with the causes of crime (including white-collar and corporate crime), discusses the operation of all key criminal justice agencies ¿ including the police, probation and prison services and the legal and youth justice systems ¿and identifies the main themes underpinning contemporary criminal justice policy. Key additions include: updated material from the first edition, incorporating changes to criminal justice policy introduced by the 2010 Coalition government; a new chapter that presents an overview of the criminal justice system; discussions of the evolving EU criminal justice system and the implications of this for UK criminal justice policy. The book is an ideal text for students taking courses in criminal justice, or studying criminal justice as a component of a broader course in criminology or the social sciences and practitoners within these fields. It is written in a highly accessible manner and has a wide range of features that include questions, key chapter themes, a timeline of main events, a glossary of key terms, a website resource guide.
Publication Date: 2013-01-30
Criminal Justice at the Crossroads by William R. KellyOver the past forty years, the criminal justice system in the United States has engaged in a very expensive policy failure, attempting to punish its way to public safety, with dismal results. So-called "tough on crime" policies have not only failed to effectively reduce crime, recidivism, and victimization but also created an incredibly inefficient system that routinely fails the public, taxpayers, crime victims, criminal offenders, their families, and their communities. Strategies that focus on behavior change are much more productive and cost effective for reducing crime than punishment, and in this book, William R. Kelly discusses the policy, process, and funding innovations and priorities that the United States needs to effectively reduce crime, recidivism, victimization, and cost. He recommends proactive, evidence-based interventions to address criminogenic behavior; collaborative decision making from a variety of professions and disciplines; and a focus on innovative alternatives to incarceration, such as problem-solving courts and probation. Students, professionals, and policy makers alike will find in this comprehensive text a bracing discussion of how our criminal justice system became broken and the best strategies by which to fix it.
Publication Date: 2015-05-05
Criminal Justice Technology in the 21st Century by Laura J. Moriarty (Editor)This third edition, arriving nearly 12 years after the previous one, is not only timely but overdue. This text offers a welcome and appropriate mixture of knowledge or information about specific types of technology along with empirical studies of certain technology used in various subcomponents of the criminal justice system. This text consists of 12 chapters, with eight completely new and four substantially revised and updated. The text is arranged into two parts: law enforcement technology and public safety technology. Major topics include: technology infrastructure: what it is and how it's changing; current overview of law enforcement technology; body-worn cameras: the new normal; avoiding the technological panacea of the body-worn camera; examining perceptions of technology-enabled crimes; digital forensics; technological advancements in keeping victims safe; the evolution of offender electronic monitoring: from radio signals to satellite technology; technoprisons: technology and prisons; inside the Darknet: techno-crime and criminal opportunity; securing cyberspace in the 21st century; and assessing the deployment of automated license place recognition technology and strategies to improve public safety. Numerous illustrations and tables highlight the chapter contents. Students, educators, and practitioners will find this new edition most useful as it provides practical knowledge about different technology advances and projections on many levels. This third edition has developed into an excellent resource that allows both neophyte and expert to learn state-of-the-art information.