You can use MedlinePlus to learn about the latest treatments, look up information on a drug or supplement, find out the meanings of words, or view medical videos or illustrations. You can also get links to the latest medical research on your topic or find out about clinical trials on a disease or condition.
The world’s largest biomedical library, NLM maintains and makes available a vast print collection and produces electronic information resources on a wide range of topics that are searched billions of times each year by millions of people around the globe.
UpToDate is an evidence-based, physician-authored clinical decision support resource which clinicians trust to make the right point-of-care decisions. *Off campus general access is available through Citrix or by registering on campus first.
More titles can be found by searching the library catalog
Darby's Comprehensive Review of Dental Hygiene by Christine M. BlueComprehensive, full-color, and completely one-of-a-kind! If you're looking for an all-inclusive review to help you pass the National Board Dental Hygiene Examination (NBDHE) on the first try, then look no further than Darby's Comprehensive Review of Dental Hygiene, 8th Edition. Written by a team of expert authors, this "go-to" review tool includes everything you need to fully prepare for the NBDHE - including 1,100 chapter review questions; four computerized practice exams to simulate the NBDHE test-taking experience; case studies throughout; an outline-style review of all the topics covered on the exam; and more. It's the one-stop NBDHE review tool you can't afford to be without! Comprehensive coverage offers an all-inclusive review for the NBDHE and is supplemented with 2,500 practice questions, including four simulated exams. Expert editor and chapter authors are leading educators, researchers, and practitioners in their specific areas who have an in-depth knowledge of what it takes to succeed on the NBDHE. Outline format visually organizes the content and presents information in summary style for easy review and study. Full-color format features content that is liberally supplemented with illustrations, diagrams, clinical photographs, and radiographs to enhance understanding. Case presentations throughout help prepare users for Component B of the board examination. NEW! Revised chapter content reflects the latest research and changes in infection control, nutrition guidelines, evidence-based care, periodontal therapy, pain management, and more. NEW! Revised art program features new clinical images that accompany content updates and case presentations. NEW! Review questions - 50 per chapter - end each content review. Answers and rationales are included for each. NEW! Four all-new online simulated exams provide opportunities for authentic test-day experience. Study and exam modes, question rationales, mapping to NBDHE categories, and timer functionality help build confidence and content mastery.
Call Number: OVER RK60.7 .D37 2017
Publication Date: 2016-03-01
Dental Assistants and Hygienists by Kezia EndsleyIf you are interested in a career in the dental assistants and hygienists (the allied health field, as it is often called), you've come to the right book. So what exactly do these people do on the job, day in and day out? What kind of skills and educational background do you need to succeed in these fields? How much can you expect to make, and what are the pros and cons of these various fields? Do these career paths have a bright future? Is this even the right career path for you? How do you avoid burnout and deal with stress? This book can help you answer these questions and more. Dental Assistants and Hygienists includes interviews with professionals in the field, covers three main areas of this field that have proven to be stable, lucrative, and growing professions. -Dental assistants -Dental hygienists -Dental technicians
Call Number: RK60.5 .E53 2019
Publication Date: 2019-01-31
Dental Hygienist by Esther M. Wilkins; Charlotte J. Wyche; Linda D. BoydConsidered the cornerstone text in almost every dental hygiene education program in the country, Clinical Practice of the Dental Hygienist, Twelfth Edition helps students develop the knowledge and skills they need for successful, evidence-based practice in today's rapidly changing oral health care environment. Written by one of the preeminent voices in dental hygiene education, the book progresses through crucial topics in dental hygiene in a straightforward, outline format, making information easy to locate, understand, and reference. To help readers prepare for effective, culturally sensitive practice, six sections of the Twelfth Edition conform to the Dental Hygiene Process of Care: Assessment, Diagnosis, Care Planning, Implementation, Education, and, new to this edition, Documentation. Updated and revised throughout, this edition includes new material on motivational interviewing, risk assessment, and alternate practice settings, and is enhanced by new clinically relevant color photos, and real-world examples.
Call Number: OVER RK60.5 W55 2017
Publication Date: 2016-01-19
Dental Hygiene by Michele Leonardi Darby; Margaret Walsh; Margaret M. WalshComprehensive and up to date, Dental Hygiene, 3rd Edition offers complete coverage of today's dental hygiene skills and theories -- all based on the Human Needs Model for better hygienist/patient communication. With a strong focus on clinical application, each section closely follows the critical thinking and clinical assessment approach that a hygienist must use in the classroom, clinic, and practice. Clinical competencies at the beginning of each chapter provide a clear, quick overview of exactly what you need to know, and procedure boxes with detailed steps and rationales ensure that you understand the reasoning behind each step in the competencies. In addition, new chapters on caries risk assessment and the oral-systemic health connection keep you up to date with today's major areas of research. Each section takes you from conceptual foundations of dental hygiene through patient assessment, treatment, and evaluation. Scenario boxes challenge you to integrate complex information as you assess, diagnose, plan care, and evaluate the outcome of care. Client Education Issues and Legal, Ethical and Safety Issues boxes inform you of the latest information in these important areas. Critical Thinking exercises provide opportunities for independent thought and problem solving. Tables and boxes build upon and simplify information from the text, making study and review quick and easy. Evolve website contains free online resources, including weblinks, self-assessment quizzes, and professional development worksheets for student review. A reorganized section for Individuals with Special Needs includes chapters on Cleft Palate, Physical Abuse, Blood Diseases, and Mental Illness, all reflecting evidence-based research now available in these areas. New chapters on caries risk assessment and the oral-systemic health connection -- hot topics in today's dental sciences. New anesthesia guidelines keep you up to date with what's new in pain and anxiety control. Essential resources and websites are now included at the end of each chapter for easy reference. New illustrations provide a fresh, reader-friendly design. Self-assessment quizzes are available online, all case-based to follow the NBDH format. Free online access to the Legal and Ethical Decision Making chapter, including an 'asset center' to assist you with clinical skills.
Call Number: OVER RK60.5 .D445 2010
Publication Date: 2009-03-24
EBOOK & EJOURNAL TITLES
More titles can be found by searching the library catalog
Dental Anatomy by BarCharts, Inc.Loaded with meticulously detailed, beautifully illustrated structures of the human dental anatomy and the surrounding systems that support its function, clearly and concisely labeled for easy identification. Illustrations by award-winning and best-selling medical illustrator Vincent Perez, whose life mission is cataloging the beauty and detail of our complicated body systems for the medical professional, the formative student and the inquisitive layperson. Suggested uses: o Dental Students & Hygienists - handy and incredibly thorough reference that is compact and easily reviewed on a daily basis o Dentists - what any professional office needs for reference while consulting patients, also leave guides in offices to look over while patients wait o Parents - can show kids where their adult teeth are hiding when losing teeth, plus to emphasize the importance of taking care of their mouth and teeth o Patient - use guide to locate sources of pain for reporting to your dentist
Publication Date: 2016-11-01
Evidence-Based Dentistry for the Dental Hygienist by Julie Frantsve-HawleyLike any other dental professional, dental hygienists must practice evidence-based dentistry (EBD) to provide the best care to their patients, whether it be through scaling and root planing, caries prevention, or patient education. This book is intended as a textbook for dental hygienists to learn the importance of EBD in the practice of dental hygiene as well as how to implement EBD practices and share EBD findings among office staff. As the dental knowledge base evolves and scientific discoveries are made, dental hygienists must understand how to seek out and evaluate findings and, if appropriate, apply them in their clinical practice, and this book provides all the necessary tools to do just that.
Publication Date: 2014-09-01
Teeth by Mary Otto'Show me your teeth', the great naturalist George Cuvier is credited with saying, 'and I will tell you who you are'. In this shattering new work, veteran health journalist Mary Otto looks inside America's mouth, revealing unsettling truths about our unequal society. Teeth takes readers on a disturbing journey into the role teeth play in our health and our social mobility. Muckraking and paradigm-shifting, Teeth exposes for the first time the extent and meaning of our oral health crisis.
Publication Date: 2017-03-14
Dental Ethics at Chairside by David T. Ozar; David J. Sokol; Donald E. PatthoffIn the last two decades, more than ever before dentists must determine how to properly maintain their focus on ethics and professionalism in the face of powerful commercial pressures. While there is encouragement for ethical conduct within the dental profession, there is still relatively little assistance available to dentists and dental students for judging what conduct is ethically best in concrete situations. For many years, Dental Ethics at Chairside has served as an invaluable resource for tens of thousands of dentists and dentistry students, and this third edition of the gold standard in the field is thoroughly revised and updated. In addition to exploring ongoing and critical issues such as the patient-professional relationship, patients with compromised capacity, confidentiality, justice and the inadequacies of society's health care systems, and dentistry as a business, the third edition addresses emerging ethical issues related to conflicts of interest, dental professionalism, advertising and social media, the serious indebtedness of graduating dental students, bad outcomes and bad work, the explosion of aesthetic dentistry, acquiring new skills and new technology, the impact of the market on the professional-patient relationship, and many others. The book includes fourteen realistic cases and commentary about dilemmas in dentistry, as well as online resources for further research and study.