Skip to main content
CVTC Library & Technology Services logo

Ask a Librarian

Graphic Design

A Quick Word From Your Librarian, Nic Ashman

Your Library Databases

https://libapps.s3.amazonaws.com/accounts/18854/images/OneSearchfix.png

Search ALL Library Resources: Find Books, Articles, Movies, and More

OneSearch Tutorial | Scholarly Resource Refresher

 

*A word of advice when searching for "business" related expert insight - selecting "Peer Reviewed" may omit some of the experts due to how publishers index their publication titles.  Instead, try selecting "Trade Journals" along with "Academic Journals" in the Material Type limiter.

 

LinkedIn Learning

Online learning platform with over 13,000 courses taught by real-world experts. Includes Lynda.com content.  This is a great resource for building up your "soft skills".

 

How To Use LinkedIn Learning (Video

In case you want a faster way of finding the suggested starting video, I have linked it above.

Library Books

Bauhaus

The Bauhaus movement is one of the most significant and consequential cultural emergences of the twentieth century. Walter Gropius founded this institute of design in 1919 in Weimar and it was effective in Weimar, Dessau and Berlin. The teachings of the Bauhaus in design are still observed in today's architecture and design schools but also in general art classes. The products of the Bauhaus, such as Marcel Breuer's well-known steel pipe furniture, became inexpensive classic design standards. The Bauhaus buildings have made architectural history and now belong to the UNESCO world heritage. This book features an overview of the history of the Bauhaus, served by a rich image documentation, and sheds light on its evolution and connection with other movements, and renders the Bauhaus traceable and understandable to the reader.

Design: Logo

This inspirational resource features over 300 exemplary logo designs chosen by two leading identity designers, along with design 'dissections,' of the authors' top logo picks.

Read This If You Want to Take Great Photographs of People

Read This If You Want to Take Great Photographs of People is one of the best photography books to read if you want to learn how to take good pictures of people. This straight-talking guide will give you top portrait photography tips and is ideal for users of any camera who have a basic knowledge of photography. * Learn top portrait photography tips from 50 famous photographers * Take great portrait photography and pictures of people * A must-have guide for amateur photographers and professional photographers * A bestselling book on portrait photography This book walks you through the essential techniques of portrait photography, whether it's on the street, at home or in the studio. Packed with iconic images by famous photographers, it gives you the inspiration and know-how needed to get out there and take great pictures of friends, family and everyone else. Top portrait photography tips from 50 famous photographers including: Richard Avedon, William Klein, Cindy Sherman, Garry Winogrand, Richard Renaldi, William Eggleston, Sebastião Salgado and Henri Cartier-Bresson. Read This If You Want to Take Great Photographs of People is part of the bestselling 'Read This' series, which has sold over half-a-million books worldwide and has been translated into over 20 languages. Coming soon: Read This if You Want to Be YouTube Famous (Feb 2020) More titles in the 'Read This. series: Read This if You Want to Take Great Photographs by Henry Carroll (9781780673356) Read This if You Want to Take Great Photographs of Places by Henry Carroll (9781780679051) Use This if You Want to Take Great Photographs: A Photo Journal by Henry Carroll (9781780678887) Read This if You Want to Be Great at Drawing by Selwyn Leamy (9781786270542) Use This if You Want to Be Great at Drawing by Selwyn Leamy (9781786274052) Read This if You Want to Be Great at Drawing People by Selwyn Leamy (9781786275127) Read This if You Want to Be a Great Writer by Ross Raisin (9781786271976) Read This if You Want to Be Instagram Famous edited by Henry Carroll (9781780679679)

Universal Principles of Design, Revised and Updated

A comprehensive, cross-disciplinary encyclopedia of design.

Drawing Anatomy : An Artist's Guide to the Human Figure

The ability to draw the human figure well is the sign of a good artist. So it is vital to appreciate the body's characteristics and how they influence posture and expression. Drawing Anatomy provides all the information you need to produce the most accurate representations of people.In Drawing Anatomy, teacher and artist Barrington Barber begins his exploration of this area of art by explaining what the body is made of and then reviews each section of the human figure in detail in separate chapters.• Explains how the body changes with age• Reveals how to portray the body in motion• Teaches how features such as eyes and mouths can vary • Includes information on Latin anatomical names and how they describe different parts of the body

Graphic Design, Referenced

From Caslon and Carson, from Gutenberg to Greiman, from Lascaux to letterpress, and from Postmodernism to pixel (among other entries), this title will provide all the necessary information and visual cues that designers need to know in order to become empowered, work efficiently and knowingly, and survive in a design conversation with peers.

Colour

Taking a practical approach to colour, Colour: A Workshop for Artists and Designers is an invaluable resource for art students and professionals alike. With its sequence of specially designed assignments and in-depth discussions, it effectively bridges the gap between colour theory and practice to inspire confidence and understanding in anyone who works with colour. This second edition has been carefully reviewed and revised throughout. Presented in a new larger format, it includes much-enhanced sections on key colour principles such as colour perception, visual structure, materials and techniques, psychological experience of colour, and colour composition in digital formats. Generously illustrated - including all-new, contemporary examples - this book provides a unique set of tools that make the complex theory of colour accessible and practical.

The Language of Graphic Design Revised and Updated

Provides graphic design students and practitioners with an in-depth understanding of the fundamental elements and principles of their language - graphic design.

Quick Pick Resources from the Internet

Graphic Design: Course Resources