LibGuides: U.S. History (All Sections): History Databases & More

Health and Education Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

CVTC Library
Chippewa Valley Technical College
620 W. Clairemont Ave.
Eau Claire, WI 54701

715-833-6265

Subjects: Academic Success, Diversity & Ethnic Studies, Engineering, English & Communication, Government, History, Library Science, Literature & Reading, Psychology, Sciences, Technology, Trade & Industry

Library Hours

Monday - Thursday | 7:30 am - 8 pm

Friday | 7:30 am - 5 pm

Saturday | 9 am - 3 pm

Sunday | Closed

Closed during College-observed holidays

Effective August 30-December 20, 2021

Find Library Resources

History Databases

What is a Database?

Great question! Think of a database as a file cabinet. In this file cabinet there are lots of files and each one contains a different resource or piece of information. When you search a database, you are searching thousands of resources for information that relates to what you type in the search box (like Google, just more credible).

These databases will help you in your search!

Click on any of the blue headings below to search a databases.

Use this to search thousands of scholarly journals and articles, full-text and peer-reviewed.

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
A work in progress, this databases provides searching and viewing capability for newspapers from 1860-1922 for several states in the U.S. More states are being added. It also provides directory information about American newspapers published from 1690 to present.
Fulton Search: New York State Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
An alternative search interface for over 41,433,000 historical newspaper pages from www.fultonhistory.com. Coverage from 1722 to present, with some coverage of papers from outside of New York State.
Minnesota Digital Library This link opens in a new window
The Minnesota Digital Library (MDL) provides access to unique digital collections shared by cultural heritage organizations from across the state of Minnesota.
Recollection Wisconsin This link opens in a new window
A collaborative of cultural heritage organizations from across the state, provides Wisconsin residents and audiences worldwide with free access to a growing set of historical resources from the collections of Wisconsin libraries, archives, museums and historical societies.