UpToDate is an evidence-based, physician-authored clinical decision support resource which clinicians trust to make the right point-of-care decisions. *Off campus general access is available through Citrix or by registering on campus first.
This comprehensive research database provides full text for nursing and allied health journals indexed in CINAHL Plus. Additional materials include full-text evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons and continuing education modules.
You can use MedlinePlus to learn about the latest treatments, look up information on a drug or supplement, find out the meanings of words, or view medical videos or illustrations. You can also get links to the latest medical research on your topic or find out about clinical trials on a disease or condition.
The world’s largest biomedical library, NLM maintains and makes available a vast print collection and produces electronic information resources on a wide range of topics that are searched billions of times each year by millions of people around the globe.
Contains a variety of images, charts, illustrations, animations, and videos related to medical subjects.
More titles can be found by searching the library catalog
Mosby's Diagnostic and Laboratory Test Reference by Kathleen Deska Pagana; Timothy J. Pagana; Theresa N. PaganaGet the latest research and easy access to today's most important diagnostic and lab tests! Known for its accuracy, currency, and clear, easy-to-use format, Mosby's Diagnostic & Laboratory Test Reference 14th Edition features concise test entries that are arranged alphabetically and reflect the latest in diagnostic and lab testing and research. This new edition adds 15 tests with vital information such as alternate or abbreviated test names, test explanation, normal and abnormal findings, possible critical values, and guidelines to patient care before, during, and after the test. Plus, all related tests are cross-referenced throughout the book to simplify lookup. A compact size, durable cover, and A-to-Z thumb tabs make this market-leading book ideal for everyday use in the classroom and on the job! Alphabetically organized tests offer quick reference with A-to-Z thumb tabs, so you will never have to search for a test by having to first determine its correct category or body system. Normal findings for adult, elderly, and pediatric patients are included where applicable. Abnormal findings are highlighted with directional arrows to show increased or decreased test results. Convenient appendix lists tests by body system and test type, making it easy to quickly locate related studies. A durable cover with rounded edges helps prevent the book from being damaged and makes it easier to handle. Each test entry begins on a new page, making tests easy to find. Possible critical values are highlighted to show situations requiring immediate intervention. Icon for patient teaching-related care indicates information that should be shared with patients and their families. User's Guide to Test Preparation and Performance provides an overview and guidelines for each type of laboratory test and diagnostic procedure, so you can minimize worry about having to repeat a test due to an error. Abbreviations for tests are listed in the back of the book, and symbols and units of measurement are listed in an appendix. Cross-referencing of related tests makes them easy to find. NEW! Test entries include the latest diagnostic tests and laboratory procedures, featuring 10 new monographs and 15 additional tests. NEW! Content reflects the latest research on the diagnostic values of results, accuracy of testing, and patient care and education for each test. NEW! Common Reference Ranges section added to the Inside Front Cover material.
Call Number: RB38.2 .P337 2019
Publication Date: 2018-11-15
Laboratory Medicine by Michael LaposataA complete full-color guide to selecting the correct laboratory test and interpreting the results --- covering the entire field of clinical pathology. Laboratory Medicine is the most comprehensive, user-friendly, and well-illustrated guide available for learning how to order the correct laboratory test and understand the clinical significance of the results. The book features an easy-to-follow, consistent presentation for each disease discussed.
Call Number: RB37 .L27523 2010
Publication Date: 2010-05-10
More titles can be found by searching the library catalog
Medical Errors and Patient Safety by Jay KalraIs the reporting of medical errors changing? This book shows with real cases from health care and beyond that most errors come from flaws in the system. It also shows why they don't get reported and how medical error disclosure around the world is shifting away from blaming people, to a "no-fault" model that seeks to improve the whole system of care. The book intends to provide an introduction to medical errors that result in preventable adverse events. It will examine issues that stymie efforts made to reduce preventable adverse events and medical errors, and will moreover highlight their impact on clinical laboratories and other areas, including educational, bioethical, and regulatory issues. Varying error rates of 0.1-9.3% in clinical diagnostic laboratories have been reported in the literature. While it is suggested that fewer errors occur in the laboratory than in other hospital settings, the quantum of laboratory tests used in healthcare entails that even a small error rate may reflect a large number of errors. The interdependence of surgical specialties, emergency rooms, and intensive care units - all of which are prone to higher rates of medical errors - with clinical diagnostic laboratories entails that reducing error rates in laboratories is essential to ensuring patient safety in other critical areas of healthcare. The author maintains that many such errors are preventable provided that appropriate attention is paid to systemic factors involved in laboratory errors. This book identifies possible intelligent system approaches that can be adopted to help control and eliminate these errors. It is a valuable tool for physicians, clinical biochemists, research scientists, laboratory technologists and anyone interested in reducing adverse events at all levels of healthcare processes.
Publication Date: 2011-05-17
Clinical Diagnostic Tests by Michael LaposataClinical Diagnostic Tests is a convenient, quick-reference guide to common errors and pitfalls in test selection and result interpretation for practitioners and trainees in all areas of clinical medicine. Authored by recognized experts and educators in laboratory medicine, it provides timely, practical guidance about what to do√ and what not to do√ for practitioners ordering or interpreting clinical tests. Each topic features a concise overview and summary followed by a list of bulleted √ standards of care√ that will enable practitioners to quickly recognize and avert a potential problem. Organized for easy access to critical information, this pithy guide addresses all major issues practitioners are likely to encounter during their day-to-day clinical work. It is intended for practitioners in pathology, laboratory medicine, primary care as well as nurse practitioners and physician assistants. It is also a valuable resource for clinical trainees and students who need to learn effective, efficient use of the clinical lab in practice. Key Features: Provides practical guidance for avoiding common errors and pitfalls in lab test selection and interpretation Includes pithy overviews and recommendations for quick reference Written by expert authors and educators in laboratory medicine Presents bulleted √ standards of care√ Serves as a concise, to-the-point teaching guide About the Author: Michael Laposata, MD, PhD, is Chair of Pathology, Director of Division of Laboratory Medicine and Clinical Laboratories, University of Texas Medical Branch, Galveston "
Publication Date: 2015-06-01
Laboratory Diagnostic Pathways by Walter Hofmann (Editor)The prognosis of a disease often depends on the timing of therapeutic invention, which in turn strongly relies on a reliable and quick diagnosis. Laboratory diagnostic pathways are algorithms that give structure to the diagnostic process, thereby minimizing the risk of mistreatment, shortening the hospital stay, and lowering the cost for treatment. This book offers 70 diagnostic algorithms that lead physicians and laboratory personnel through the diagnostic process in a step-by-step fashion. In Part One, general basics, infrastructure, and economic aspects are discussed and tipps for implementation are given. Part Two introduces screening methods for cases without a suspected diagnosis as well as specific pathways for stepwise diagnosis of the most common diseases, accompanied by information on pathophysiology, preanalytical measures, implementation, and interpretation of results.