Lippincott Advisor is an expanding collection of more than 16,000 evidence-based entries and patient teaching handouts. *Off campus general access is available through Citrix. Current Nursing program students should use credentials provided by librarian.
Lippincott Procedures provides real-time access to step-by-step guides for over 1,700 evidence-based procedures and skills in a variety of specialty settings. *Off campus general access is available through Citrix. Current Nursing program students should use credentials provided by librarian.
UpToDate is an evidence-based, physician-authored clinical decision support resource which clinicians trust to make the right point-of-care decisions. *Off campus general access is available through Citrix or by registering on campus first.
You can use MedlinePlus to learn about the latest treatments, look up information on a drug or supplement, find out the meanings of words, or view medical videos or illustrations. You can also get links to the latest medical research on your topic or find out about clinical trials on a disease or condition.
The world’s largest biomedical library, NLM maintains and makes available a vast print collection and produces electronic information resources on a wide range of topics that are searched billions of times each year by millions of people around the globe.
Unites hundreds of full-length training videos from Medcom-Trainex into one must-have resource for all nursing education programs and health libraries. Already widely used in nursing courses and hospitals, the videos in this collection cover the fundamentals together with more advanced topics, from anatomy to basic clinical skills, medication administration, and more.
Resource Video for Jenna Sorenson's NPSG Project (30:18)
The following titles are Open Educational Resources created by CVTC as part of the OpenRN grant
More titles can be found by searching the library catalog
Nursing Diagnosis Handbook by Betty J. Ackley; Gail B. Ladwig; Mary Beth Flynn MakicAckley's Nursing Diagnosis Handbook: An Evidence-Based Guide to Planning Care, 11th Edition helps practicing nurses and nursing students select appropriate nursing diagnoses and write care plans with ease and confidence. This convenient handbook shows you how to correlate nursing diagnoses with known information about clients on the basis of assessment findings, established medical or psychiatric diagnoses, and the current treatment plan. Extensively revised and updated with the new 2015-2017 NANDA-I approved nursing diagnoses, it integrates the NIC and NOC taxonomies, evidence-based nursing interventions, and adult, pediatric, geriatric, multicultural, home care, and client/family teaching and discharge planning considerations to guide you in creating unique, individualized care plans. Comprehensive, up-to-date information on all the 2015-2017 NANDA-I nursing diagnoses so you stay in the know. UNIQUE! Provides care plans for every NANDA-I approved nursing diagnosis plus two unique care plans for Hearing Loss and Vision Loss. Includes pediatric, geriatric, multicultural, client/family teaching and discharge planning, home care, and safety interventions as necessary for plans of care. Presents examples of and suggested NIC interventions and NOC outcomes in each care plan. UNIQUE! Care Plan Constructor on the companion Evolve website offers hands-on practice creating customized plans of care. 150 NCLEX exam-style review questions are available on Evolve. Promotes evidence-based interventions and rationales by including recent or classic research that supports the use of each intervention. Classic evidence-based references promote evidence-based interventions and rationales. Clear, concise interventions are usually only a sentence or two long and use no more than two references. Safety content emphasizes what must be considered to provide safe patient care. Step-by-step instructions show you how to use the Guide to Nursing Diagnoses and Guide to Planning Care sections to create a unique, individualized plan of care. List of Nursing Diagnosis Index in back inside cover of book for quick reference. Three-column index is easy to use. Easy-to-follow sections I and II guide you through the nursing process and selecting appropriate nursing diagnoses. Alphabetical thumb tabs allow quick access to specific symptoms and nursing diagnoses. NEW! Includes the new 2015-2017 NANDA-I approved nursing diagnoses, compete with 26 new diagnoses. NEW and UPDATED! Provides the latest NIC/NOC, interventions, and rationales for every care plan. EXPANDED! Additional information on concept based nursing and major nursing theories provides you with the knowledge you need for clinical success. EXPANDED! New content on QSEN, safety, and risk for infection keeps you up to date. NEW! In-depth coverage of wellness and primary prevention stresses the importance of health and wellness. NEW! Appendixes in the text provide you with valuable information in an easy-to-access location. NEW! Revised references in APA style.
Call Number: RT48.6 .A35 2017
Publication Date: 2016-02-25
Mosby's 2019 Nursing Drug Reference by Linda Skidmore-RothPut the most trusted name in nursing in your hands. Mosby's 2019 Nursing Drug Reference is a full-color portable nursing drug handbook that makes it easy to find the most vital information on the drugs that nurses administer most frequently. More than 5,000 drugs are profiled in the text and on the free app - including 15 new entries for drugs and drug therapies recently approved by the FDA. Plus, no other drug guide places a higher emphasis on patient safety, with Black Box Warnings for dangerous adverse reactions, Safety Alerts for situations requiring special attention, and a focus on both common and life-threatening side effects of 50 common drug classes. This 32nd edition proves once again why Mosby's is the bestselling drug reference for nurses on the market! Coverage of more than 5,000 generic and trade-name drugs provides information for almost every drug you're likely to encounter in clinicals. Black Box Warnings provide alerts to FDA warnings of dangerous or life-threatening drug reactions. Safety Alert icon highlights the most critical drug interactions and side effects. Common and life-threatening side effects are organized by body system, showing signs to watch for during assessments. IV drug administration coverage in bold highlight dosage and IV administration instructions, including safety considerations and Y-site, syringe, and additive compatibilities. Alphabetical organization by generic name provides quick and easy access to specific drugs, and a full-color design highlights important information. Nursing Process steps are used as the framework for organizing all nursing care information. Cross-references indicate drug information that may be found in the appendices. Complete pharmacokinetic information includes the mechanism and absorption of the drug as well as its action, duration, and excretion. NEW! 15 added monographs provide up-to-date content on newly released, FDA-approved drugs and drug therapies. NEW! BEERS indications included for selected monographs. NEW! Drugs with genetic indications identifiable by easy to spot icon.
Call Number: RM301.12 .S55 2019
Publication Date: 2018-04-20
Understanding Ethics for Nursing Students by Peter EllisEthics is at the heart of nursing practice and an understanding of it and what it means for nursing is essential from early in the career of any nurse. However, ethical concepts can be hard to grasp for those new to the subject. This book explains ethical ideas in easy to understand terms and relates ethics to day-to-day nursing situations to help readers apply principles to their practice. The book also challenges readers to consider their own values and where ethics fits into who they are and how they behave. Key features include: - an introductory guide to ethics to help students and those new to the subject understand how it applies to nursing - the linking of each chapter to the latest NMC standards relating to ethical issues - case studies and scenarios that show how to resolve real ethical dilemmas - activities throughout to challenge readers to apply what they have learnt to their own practice.
Call Number: RT85 .E45 2015
Publication Date: 2014-12-01
Professional Nursing by Beth BlackAppropriate for use in early courses in baccalaureate curricula; in RN-to-BSN and RN-to-MSN courses; and as a resource for practicing nurses and graduate students, Professional Nursing: Concepts & Challenges, 8th Edition equips students and new nurses to positively impact their careers and the nursing profession. This leading text details what it means to be a professional nurse - the history, values and standards, and commitment to life-long learning. This edition features new information on QSEN, Electronic Health Record information, the effect of social media in nursing, and updated information on the Affordable Care Act. Valuable learning aids throughout every chapter include: case studies, cultural challenges, evidence-based practice, critical thinking, interviews, professional profiles, historical notes, nursing research, concepts & challenges, and ideas for further exploration. This edition discusses the current state of the nursing profession, standards and scope of practice, transition into professional practice, health care delivery systems, and future challenges for the nursing profession. Evidence-based Practice boxes highlight problems identified in patient care, the nursing researcher's questions and research, the results of that research, and the resultant recommendations for care. Considering Culture boxes highlight the impact of culture on the way in which nurses fulfill their roles and the way in which patients experience healthcare. Interview boxes explore the issues of culture and faith from the perspectives of leaders in those fields. Thinking Critically Challenges present questions or scenarios for in-depth consideration of relevant issues. Case Study boxes feature scenarios involving relevant issues in patient care. Discusses the implications of social media on nursing, including ethics and boundaries. Historical Notes highlight little-known stories of heroisms in the nursing profession. Key terms are bolded where defined in the text. A Glossary is included at the end of the text. Learning outcomes are presented at the chapter openings. Concepts and Challenges and Ideas for Further Exploration at the end of the chapters help you in review and test prep. EXPANDED! Additional QSEN information helps develop your knowledge, skills, and attitudes. NEW! Electronic Health Record information readies you to electronically keep track of patients' medical records. EXPANDED! Additional information on evidence-based practice prepares you to make more informed decisions about patient care. UPDATED! Additional information on national patient safety goals keeps you current. EXPANDED! More content on stressors and work/life balance, so you know what to expect upon entering the workforce. NEW! Updated information on the Affordable Care Act keeps you in the know. EXPANDED! Additional content on workplace issues helps eliminate some surprises down the line. NEW! Professional Profile boxes spotlight individuals in the field. NEW! Nurses Doing Research boxes give insight into nursing experiences
Call Number: RT82 .P755 2017
Publication Date: 2016-06-23
More titles can be found by searching the library catalog
Johns Hopkins Nursing Evidence-Based Practice by Deborah Dang; Sandra Dearholt; Sigma Theta Tau International Staff (Contribution by); Johns Hopkins University (Contribution by)Johns Hopkins Nursing Evidence-Based Practice: Model and Guidelines has proven to be one of the most foundational books on EBP in nursing. This fully revised third edition builds on the strength of the first two editions with updated content based on more than a decade of the model's use and refinement in real-life settings. Authors Deborah Dang and Sandra L. Dearholt also incorporated feedback from nurses around the world. Key features of the Johns Hopkins Nursing EBP model include: NEW: Tips for using the newly updated Johns Hopkins Nursing EBP model and guidelines NEW: Tips on seeking funding for the advancement of interprofessional collaboration and teamwork NEW: Tools to guide the EBP process, such as Stakeholder Analysis, Action Planning, and Dissemination Explanation of the Practice question, Evidence, and Translation (PET) approach to EBP projects Overview of the Patient, Intervention, Comparison, and Outcome (PICO) approach to EBP question development Creation of a supportive infrastructure for building an EBP nursing environment Exemplars detailing real-world EBP experiences CNOs, nurse managers, bedside nurses, and students alike have successfully transformed their practices and improved patient care using Johns Hopkins Nursing Evidence-Based Practice: Model and Guidelines.
Publication Date: 2017-10-01
Evidence-Based Practice in Action by Laura Cullen; Sigma Theta Tau International Staff (Contribution by)One of the biggest challenges of evidence-based practice (EBP) is translating knowledge, research, and clinical expertise into action. Failure to execute EBP well is rarely due to lack of information, understanding, or experience; rather, it comes down to lack of tools and practicality for implementing EBP into care. Evidence-Based Practice in Action is a unique, application-oriented EBP resource of the latest Iowa Model Revised: Evidence-Based Practice to Promote Excellence in Health Care. This book offers a detailed plan to guide nurses and healthcare leaders in promoting EBP adoption and implementation. This practical, easy-to-use guide directs healthcare leaders through preparing, implementing, and evaluating any EBP process model and provides tools for topic selection, literature searches, research and evidence review, implementation, and evaluation. The authors provide comprehensive building blocks along with strategies, tools, and tips to guide individuals and teams who make the important day-to-day decisions that ultimately affect patient outcomes. Evidence-Based Practice in Action: Comprehensive Strategies, Tools, and Tips from the University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics awarded second place in the 2018 AJN Book of the year award in the Nursing Education/Continuing Education/Professional Development.
Publication Date: 2017-06-01
Nursing by American Nursing Association StaffThe premier resource for professional nursing practice, Nursing: Scope & Standards of Practice, 3rd Edition, is informed by the advances in health care and professional nursing today. This keystone standard contains 17 national standards of practice and performance that define the who, what, where, when, why and how of nursing practice.
Publication Date: 2015-07-20
The Essence of Nursing Practice by Hesook Suzie KimThis one-of-a-kind book provides an in-depth analysis of nursing practice as a concept and area of study, rather than as an aggregation of specific techniques and skills. The text addresses the essential features of nursing practice using a five-level nursing framework developed by the author. This framework promotes a deep understanding of how nursing should be holistically practiced rather than focusing on particular nursing competencies. The book stresses the importance of developing a multifaceted, adaptable approach to nursing that integrates all of its complexities, including philosophy, knowledge and knowing, and situational contingencies. Also addressed are the integral components of nursing practice, including essential tools, collaboration, knowledge application, competence, expertise, and quality of practice. The book discusses and analyzes the five levels of nursing practice√>=the nursing perspective, nursing knowledge for practice, the philosophy of nursing practice, the dimension of nursing practice, and the process of nursing practice√>=to provide a model for how nursing should be practiced in order to better serve patients and advance knowledge for practice. With its in-depth perspective and unique focus, the book draws from nursing knowledge, but also from the fields of philosophy and the social sciences. As such, it analyzes the essential features and characteristics of nursing practice through a broader lens. The book also includes a comprehensive bibliography from nursing, philosophy, and social sciences literature. It is designed as both a text for graduate-level nursing students and as an authoritative reference for practicing nurses, educators, and researchers. Key Features: Presents a five-level analytical model of nursing practice developed by the author Provides an in-depth examination of the essential features and dimensions of nursing practice using this analytical model Addresses the essential tools of nursing practice; collaborative practice, knowledge application, and competence; expertise; and quality of practice Includes a comprehensive bibliography relevant to the study of nursing practice from nursing, philosophy, and the social sciences