Your Library Databases
Search ALL Library Resources: Find Books, Articles, Movies, and More
Westlaw Next (Thomson-Reuters)
Westlaw is one of the primary online legal research services for lawyers and legal professionals in the United States. *Paralegal students only, contact your instructor for login information.
Searching the Westlaw Next database tip sheet
Just a quick textual refresher on using Westlaw Next
LinkedIn Learning
Online learning platform with over 13,000 courses taught by real-world experts. This is a great resource for building up your a wide range of skills. *Link will take you to the resource guide. Access link is in top right corner or that page.
How To Use LinkedIn Learning (Video)
Titles to Support Your Learning
Paralegal Study Guide by
You're probably thinking this is just another typical study guide. Because we know your time is limited, we've created a resource that isn't like most study guides. With Trivium Test Prep's unofficial Paralegal Study Guide: Test Prep and Practice Questions for the CLA-CP Exam you'll benefit from a quick-but-comprehensive review of everything tested on the exam via real-life examples, graphics, and information. These materials give you that extra edge you need to pass the first time. NALA was not involved in the creation or production of this product, is not in any way affiliated with Trivium Test Prep, and does not sponsor or endorse this product. Trivium Test Prep's Paralegal Study Guide offers: A detailed overview of what you need to know for the Paralegal exam Coverage of all the subjects over which you will be tested Practice questions for you to practice and improve Test tips and strategies to help you score higher Trivium Test Prep's Paralegal Study Guide covers: COMMUNICATIONS ETHICS LEGAL RESEARCH SUBSTANTIVE LAW ...and includes a FULL practice test About Trivium Test Prep Trivium Test Prep is an independent test prep study guide company that produces and prints all of our books right here in the USA. Our dedicated professionals know how people think and learn, and have created our test prep products based on what research has shown to be the fastest, easiest, and most effective way to prepare for the exam. Unlike other study guides that are stamped out in a generic fashion, our study materials are specifically tailored for your exact needs. We offer a comprehensive set of guides guaranteed to raise your score for exams from every step of your education; from high school, to college or the military, to graduate school. Let our study guides guide you along the path to the professional career of your dreams
Call Number: KF320 .L4 P37 2014ISBN: 1940978858Publication Date: 2014-05-12
Ethics for Paralegals by
Ethics for Paralegals attempts to animate the study of Ethics. It is critical for the paralegal student to understand the parameters of their not only their job, but also the ethical rules that define the proper practice of law. It is only after understanding legal ethics that the paralegal understands why they do things a certain way in the law office. Files are kept in a certain manner to maintain client confidentiality, retainers are collected in a certain way to comply with the rules relating to fees, and even a paralegal’s business card has ethical implications regarding the “unauthorized practice of law”. This text attempts to put these ethical rules into perspective. Attorneys and paralegals deal with these rules everyday, so everyday examples and hypotheticals are used for in-class discussion. The Paralegal Supersite Site
Call Number: KF320 .L4 S69 2009ISBN: 0073376981Publication Date: 2008-05-16
Legal Research by
Legal Research: Take the law into your own hands Do you have legal questions at home, at work, or as part of law-related course work? Legal Research provides everything you need, laying out easy-to-follow research methods that will help you find the right answers. Find out how to: locate and understand statutes, regulations, and cases make sure your research is 100% up to date, and organize your research results into a memorandum of law for use at school, at work, or in court. Completely updated for the 18th edition, Legal Research shows you how to find statutes, cases, background information, and answers to specific legal questions online. Even more important, you'll be guided to the most reliable and user-friendly sites, so you won't drown in an information flood. Lots of examples and easy-to-understand instructions teach you how to master all the basic legal research tools, including: online search engines reliable free legal websites legal encyclopedias, periodicals, and treatises annotated legal codes and statutes published reports of state and federal court cases case digests and Shepard's Citations, and the best legal blogs.
Call Number: KF242 .A1 E43 2018ISBN: 1413325645Publication Date: 2018-08-30
NALA Manual for Paralegals and Legal Assistants by
The revised NALA Manual is a valuable reference guide for professionals and students in the legal studies field. Working paralegals will not only find it helpful as an on-the-job reference, but also beneficial when preparing for the Certified Legal Assistant/Certified Paralegal examination. Paralegal programs can also use the manual as a reference for students or a textbook for capstone courses.The Manual is a collection of proven techniques and procedures used by paralegals nationwide. The techniques described are examples of successful solutions to actual assignments accomplished by working legal assistants. They may be used as starting points from which changes, adaptations, and modifications may be made by legal assistants in similar situations. More than 100 leading authorities with a wide range of experience in legal disciplines and management have contributed to this comprehensive manual since it was introduced in 1976. The expertise and commendable dedication of these individuals has consistently produced an authoritative and reliable reference for paralegals with each updated edition.
Call Number: KF320 .L4 N165 2009ISBN: 1435400259Publication Date: 2009-03-10
Latour and the Passage of Law by
These 13 essays explore Bruno Latour's legal theory from a variety of disciplinary perspectives. They combine analytical tools drawn from Latour's actor-network theory developed in Science in Action, Reassembling the Social and The Making of Law with the philosophical anthropology of the Moderns in An Inquiry into Modes of Existence to blaze a new trail in legal epistemology.
Call Number: ONLINEISBN: 9780748697908Publication Date: 2015-10-30
The Independent Paralegal's Handbook by
It has become increasingly popular to turn to independent paralegals for help with routine legal paperwork, creating a healthy demand for their skills and know-how. The definitive guide on the subject for more than 10 years, this handbook provides crucial legal and business advice for all those considering a career in this growing field. It also features interviews with prominent independent paralegals.
Call Number: ONLINEISBN: 9780873379427Publication Date: 2004-02-16
The Bluebook by
A Uniform System of Citation: The Bluebook is the definitive style guide for legal citation in the United States. For generations, law students, lawyers, scholars, judges, and other legal professionals have relied on The Bluebook's uniform system of citation in their writing. In a diverse and rapidly changing legal profession, The Bluebook continues to provide a systematic method by which members of the profession communicate important information to one another about the sources and legal authorities upon which they rely in their work.
Call Number: Ref. KF245 .B58 2020ISBN: 9780578666150Publication Date: 2020-05-20
External Of-Interest Links
Paralegal Associations, Knowledge Building, et al.
Stay connected to and supported within your field. Email Nic Ashman, nashman@cvtc.edu with any suggestions for inclusion.
