UpToDate is an evidence-based, physician-authored clinical decision support resource which clinicians trust to make the right point-of-care decisions. *Off campus general access is available through Citrix or by registering on campus first.
This comprehensive research database provides full text for nursing and allied health journals indexed in CINAHL Plus. Additional materials include full-text evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons and continuing education modules.
You can use MedlinePlus to learn about the latest treatments, look up information on a drug or supplement, find out the meanings of words, or view medical videos or illustrations. You can also get links to the latest medical research on your topic or find out about clinical trials on a disease or condition.
The world’s largest biomedical library, NLM maintains and makes available a vast print collection and produces electronic information resources on a wide range of topics that are searched billions of times each year by millions of people around the globe.
This database offers over 40,000 titles. It's super easy to use and can help put your topic in perspective or serve as a secondary source.
More titles can be found by searching the library catalog
Sonography by Betty Bates Tempkin; Reva Arnez CurryGain a firm understanding of normal anatomy and physiology from a sonographic perspective! Sonography: Introduction to Normal Structure and Function, 3rd Edition shows normal anatomy as it appears during scanning, with labeled drawings explaining what you should notice. With this knowledge, you will be able to accurately identify sonographic pathology and abnormalities. Over 1,200 illustrations include the latest and best images from the newest ultrasound equipment, including 3D and 4D images. Written by expert educators Reva Curry and Betty Tempkin, this book provides complete preparation for the challenges you'll encounter in the clinical environment. Over 1,200 images provide a thorough, visual understanding of sonography. Detailed, labeled line drawings accompany most sonograms to highlight and outline the anatomic structures that are visible in the image. Physiology background allows you to correlate images with physiologic processes and know which images need to be captured for the diagnosis of pathology. Sonographic appearance and applications sections help you develop skills in obtaining the correct images and knowing why those images are so important. Correlation with laboratory and other studies helps you connect your results with the total patient picture of disease analysis. A consistent emphasis on vasculature helps in the diagnosis of arterial disease. Introduction to Specialty Sonography section discusses important specialty areas such as neonatal brain, pediatric and adult echocardiography, and vascular technology. A companion workbook reinforces the textbook with exercises offering additional practice in identifying anatomical structures and applying knowledge. Sold separately. Thorough coverage of the newest ultrasound techniques includes: Upper extremity vascular imaging Neonatal hip and spine 3D and 4D imaging Female pelvis scanning Thoracocentesis and paracentesis Doppler techniques for fetal ductus venosus, aorta and MCA imaging Quality control protocol Scanning planes and sectional anatomy Sterile technique 80 new sonograms demonstrate the latest and best images from state-of-the-art ultrasound equipment, including 3D and 4D images. New Embryological Development chapter explains how the different body systems of a fetus develop. New Penis and Scrotum chapter provides the latest information on male reproductive scanning. Important clinical information such as universal precautions and knobology has been moved from the appendix into the main text. Definitions of key terms begin each chapter. Summary tables for structure location and measurements are included for easy reference.
Call Number: RC78.7 .U4 C937 2011
Publication Date: 2010-11-16
Sonography Principles and Instruments by Frederick W. KremkauThe 8th edition of Kremkau's Sonography Principles and Instruments concisely and comprehensively covers the essential aspects of sonography physics and technology, presenting state-of-the-art content in a dynamic, highly visual format. Confidently prepare for the challenges of practice with a clear understanding of how diagnostic sonography works, including Doppler, artifacts, safety, quality assurance, the latest technology, and more. Essential coverage of physics and ultrasound helps you prepare for the ARDMS SPI exam. Straightforward explanations simplify complex content. Key Points highlight the most important information to help you study more efficiently. Learning features such as chapter outlines, learning objectives, bulleted chapter summaries, and a glossary of sonography physics terms make difficult concepts easier to review and understand. End-of-chapter exercises test your knowledge and understanding with a mix of true-or-false, fill-in-the-blank, multiple choice, and mathematical questions. A mathematics appendix provides fast, efficient access to a List of Symbols, a Compilation of Equations, and a Mathematics Review. A full-color design depicts more than 200 high-quality ultrasound scans similar to what you'll encounter in the clinical setting. Updated scans from the most current equipment and updated content on 3D imaging, contrast, elastrography, and imaging artifacts provide all the information necessary to be consistent with current technology. Full-color photos of common instruments and control panels familiarize you with the devices you'll use in practice. Updated risk and safety statements help you ensure compliance with current national standards. New outline and presentation of materials reflect the 2009 ARDMS Sonography Principles and Instrumentation (SPI) examination.
Call Number: RC78.7 .U4 K745 2011
Publication Date: 2010-10-27
Mosby's Comprehensive Review for General Sonography Examinations by Susanna OvelBe confident that you can answer any and all questions on your registry exams correctly when you prepare with this complete review. Mosby's Comprehensive Review for General Sonography Examinations provides study resources for all three main exams required for general ultrasound practice: physics, abdomen, and ob/gyn. Each chapter is arranged in table and outline format with 50 review questions at the end of the chapter and a mock exam at the end of each section. Access additional mock exams for each subject area on the companion CD or Evolve site. These exams give you experience with timed test taking in an electronic environment that simulates the actual registry exam experience. With this realistic preview of the exam environment and solid review of the material, you'll be prepared to ace the exams! Complete preparation for the three general ARDMS exams (physics, abdomen, and ob/gyn) Content review in outline and tabular format provides a quick review of all the material you need to learn, including key terms, anatomy, functions, scanning techniques, lab values, and pathology. More than 2,500 questions in Registry format cover everything you'll be tested on in the Registry exams. Rationales for answers to mock questions help you understand why an answer is correct or incorrect and increase your comprehension. More than 350 ultrasound scans included in the abdominal and ob/gyn sections prepare you for exam questions that ask you to identify pathology on scans. Color insert with Doppler images of the liver, biliary, and umbilical cord helps you be ready to answer questions related to Doppler imaging. Companion CD provides extra timed, graded mock exams and two entertaining, interactive games: Sonography Millionaire and Tournament of Sonography.
Call Number: RC78.7 .U4 O96 2009
Publication Date: 2008-12-08
Diagnostic Ultrasound by Peter R. Hoskins (Editor); Kevin Martin (Editor); Abigail Thrush (Editor)All healthcare professionals practising ultrasound in a clinical setting should receive accredited training in the principles and practice of ultrasound scanning. This new edition of Diagnostic Ultrasound: Physics and Equipment provides a comprehensive introduction to the physics, technology and safety of ultrasound equipment, with high quality ultrasound images and diagrams throughout. It covers all aspects of the field at a level intended to meet the requirements of UK sonography courses. New to this edition: * Updated descriptions of ultrasound technology, quality assurance and safety. * Additional chapters dedicated to 3D ultrasound, contrast agents and elastography. * New glossary containing definitions of over 500 terms. The editors and contributing authors are all authorities in their areas, with contributions to the scientific and professional development of ultrasound at national and international level.
Call Number: RC78.7 .U4 D516 2010
Publication Date: 2010-06-17
More titles can be found by searching the library catalog
Diagnostic Ultrasound Imaging: Inside Out by Thomas L. SzaboDiagnostic Ultrasound Imaging provides a unified description of the physical principles of ultrasound imaging, signal processing, systems and measurements. This comprehensive reference is a core resource for both graduate students and engineers in medical ultrasound research and design. With continuing rapid technological development of ultrasound in medical diagnosis, it is a critical subject for biomedical engineers, clinical and healthcare engineers and practitioners, medical physicists, and related professionals in the fields of signal and image processing. The book contains 17 new and updated chapters covering the fundamentals and latest advances in the area, and includes four appendices, 450 figures (60 available in color on the companion website), and almost 1,500 references. In addition to the continual influx of readers entering the field of ultrasound worldwide who need the broad grounding in the core technologies of ultrasound, this book provides those already working in these areas with clear and comprehensive expositions of these key new topics as well as introductions to state-of-the-art innovations in this field.
Publication Date: 2013-12-16
Radcases Ultrasound Imaging by Dean Nakamoto; Nami Azar; Vikram Dogra; Carolyn Donaldson...structured using very detailed ultrasonographic images, extensively explained with plain and didactic language. -- European Journal of Nuclear Medicine and Molecular Imaging Ultrasound Imaging refines your ultrasound diagnostic skills and prepares you for board exams in radiology. Features of Ultrasound Imaging: Covers a wide range of radiological specialties, including renal, gastrointestinal, genitourinary, thyroid, vascular, pediatric, and obstetric Each case includes valuable tips to help readers properly interpret ultrasound images and avoid potential pitfalls Nearly 100 high-quality color illustrations and 350 black and white radiographs demonstrating key ultrasound imaging cases