Education Research Complete is a robust database for education students, professionals and policymakers. Providing hundreds of full-text education journals, it covers all levels of education, from early childhood to higher education, plus multilingual education, health education and testing.
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is an authoritative database of indexed and full-text education literature and resources. Sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education, it is an essential tool for education researchers of all kinds.
This database offers over 40,000 titles. It's super easy to use and can help put your topic in perspective or serve as a secondary source.
More titles can be found by searching the library catalog
Behavioral Challenges in Early Childhood Settings by Connie Jo SmithChildren can experience feelings they don't understand causing them to act out. This Redleaf Quick Guide is filled with information on how to respond to an array of 12 common behavioral challenges including aggression, defiance, and separation anxiety, and offers prevention tips and developmental information that may affect young children's behavior.
Call Number: LB1060.2 .S589 2017
Publication Date: 2017-09-12
Continuity in Children's Worlds by Melissa M. Jozwiak; Betsy J. Cahill; Rachel Theilheimer; Beth Blue Swadener (Foreword by); Sharon Ryan (Series edited by)Children's experiences when they transition from home to school, from classroom to classroom, and from school to school raise issues of continuity that permeate every aspect of early childhood education. This book uses practitioner stories to investigate beliefs about continuity and discontinuity and how these beliefs are enacted in contexts for young children from birth to age 8. The authors examine a range of continuities and discontinuities, including the experiences children, teachers, and families have with programs; the interactions between families and schools; and the ways in which programs and schools relate to one another. They also raise questions about primary caregiving, cultural responsiveness, assessment practices, and congruity between institutions. Discussions of each story include the authors' interpretations, references to relevant theory, questions for reflection, and implications for intentional and thoughtful practice. Book Features: Represents the first comprehensive volume to unpack the complex topic of continuity. Provides a critical analysis of continuity based on real stories from practitioners and parents. Illuminates the work of early childhood educators on the individual, group, organizational, and systems levels. Encourages readers to carefully consider their roles as educators of young children.
Call Number: LB1139.23 .J69 2016
Publication Date: 2016-06-03
STEM Learning with Young Children by Shelly L. Counsell; Sonia Yoshizawa; Lawrence Escalada; Rosemary Geiken; Sharon Ryan (Series edited by); Melissa Sander; Jill Uhlenberg; Beth Van Meeteren; Betty ZanThis teacher's guide provides the background information, STEM concepts, and strategies needed to successfully implement an early STEM curriculum (Ramps and Pathways) with young children, ages 3-8. R&P actively engages young children in designing and building ramp structures using wooden cove molding, releasing marbles on the structures, and observing what happens. Children use logical-mathematical thinking and problem-solving skills as they explore science concepts related to motion, force, and energy. This guide helps teachers to: Structure and organize an engaging STEM learning environment. Understand and promote logical-mathematical and scientific thinking during investigations. Promote social settings that enhance communication, cooperation, and collaboration. Make the necessary accommodations and modifications for diverse learners. Integrate STEM concepts and skills with other content areas. Align teaching and learning with Next Generation Science Standards (NGSS) and Common Core State Standards (CCSS). Assess STEM learning using formative and summative assessments. Establish adult learning communities to support ongoing professional development. Help children develop habits and behaviors that contribute to positive attitudes toward STEM. This one-of-a-kind resource uses a newly created Inquiry Teaching Model (ITM) as the conceptual framework and devotes specific attention to the importance of an inclusive and social, STEM learning environment in which children are free to collaborate, take risks, and investigate within the context of exploratory and constructive play.
Call Number: LB1139.5 .S35 C68 2016
Publication Date: 2015-12-28
More titles can be found by searching the library catalog
High-Quality Early Childhood Programs by Derry J. Koralek; Laura J. Colker; Diane Trister-Dodge (Foreword by)An invaluable tool for the director/supervisor striving to identify what aspects of an early childhood program need improvement. The detailed descriptions of what one should see in high quality programs (and why) gives readers a strong foundation of child development knowledge and of principles translated into practice. Laura Colker is the author of over 100 publications and instructional guides, including co-authorship of The Creative Curriculum for Preschool, The Creative Curriculum for Family Child Care, and The Creative Curriculum for Infants and Toddlers. The Creative Curriculum for Preschool, now in its fifth edition, is the most widely used preschool curriculum in the United States. She also served as content specialist or scriptwriter on over forty educational videos for PBS and Reading Is Fundamental, and developed online training for early childhood caregivers and family child care providers for NACCRRA (National Association of Child Care Resource and Referral Agencies). Diane Trister Dodge, founder and president of Teaching Strategies, Inc., is the author of numerous books, articles, and training materials on early childhood education. She is the lead author on all of Teaching Strategies books, including the popular The Creative Curriculum series. Derry Koralek is the President of DGK & Company, an independent consultant in early childhood education and developer of training materials and guidebooks. Past clients include Reading Is Fundamental, the Head Start Bureau, Military Child Development Programs, and the Devereux Foundation. Koralek is a past Editor-in-Chief of Teaching Young Children, National Association for the Education of Young Children, and winner of the Association for Educational Publishing Golden Lamp Award, 2014.
Publication Date: 2018-01-09
Graceful Leadership in Early Childhood Education by Ann McClain TerrellGraceful Leadership in Early Childhood Education is a book to turn to when there is a challenge that needs tackling, when you need a boost of inspiration, or when you just want to reflect on your own journey. Ann shares a graceful approach to being a more capable and effective leader in the field of early childhood. Told in a narrative, inspirational, and practical way this book shares the values that the author has and has been able to hold onto in order to be successful. It shares how one woman maintained her grace and quiet dignity while on her leadership journey and overcame the challenges and hurdles that she faced. This is not a theoretical book but rather one that shows how theory/personal experience can be used and put into action.