Education Research Complete is a robust database for education students, professionals and policymakers. Providing hundreds of full-text education journals, it covers all levels of education, from early childhood to higher education, plus multilingual education, health education and testing.
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is an authoritative database of indexed and full-text education literature and resources. Sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education, it is an essential tool for education researchers of all kinds.
This database offers over 40,000 titles. It's super easy to use and can help put your topic in perspective or serve as a secondary source.
More titles can be found by searching the library catalog
Engaging Children's Minds by Lilian G. Katz; Sylvia C. Chard; Yvonne KoganNow in its third edition, this book shows teachers how to incorporate the Project Approach into early childhood and elementary curricula, engaging children intellectually and heightening their capacities for thinking, hypothesizing, reasoning, and expressing their natural curiosity. Why has the Project Approach proven to be so successful for engaging young children intellectually and supporting their capacities to think, predict, hypothesize, reason, and express their natural curiosity? Simply put, because project work provides meaningful contexts in which children can readily apply and perceive the usefulness of their growing academic skills. This book provides a brief history and overview of the Project Approach and a thorough explanation of how to better use this method proficiently in a wide range of educational contexts. This book is intended for teachers, early childhood practitioners, caregivers, and student teachers. Readers will learn how to apply this approach to engage children's interest and facilitate their intellectual development. The book's chapters articulate the processes and benefits of the Project Approach, identify and detail the three phases of project work, and provide specific suggestions for implementing each phase. The importance of documenting children's work to record the story of their investigation and findings is also discussed. * Presents the philosophical, theoretical, and research bases of project work that serve to explain how the Project Approach enables children to make better, more in-depth and accurate sense of their experiences and phenomena in their everyday environment * Includes descriptions of numerous projects implemented with children in a wide variety of settings to guide teachers through developing their own successful projects with children * Provides a comprehensively updated new edition of the well-known standard book on the Project Approach
Call Number: LB1027.43 .K38 2014
Publication Date: 2014-09-26
Fostering Resilient Learners by Kristin Souers; Pete HallIn this galvanizing book for all educators, Kristin Souers and Pete Hall explore an urgent and growing issue--childhood trauma--and its profound effect on learning and teaching. Grounded in research and the authors' experience working with trauma-affected students and their teachers, Fostering Resilient Learners will help you cultivate a trauma-sensitive learning environment for students across all content areas, grade levels, and educational settings. The authors--a mental health therapist and a veteran principal--provide proven, reliable strategies to help you * Understand what trauma is and how it hinders the learning, motivation, and success of all students in the classroom. * Build strong relationships and create a safe space to enable students to learn at high levels. * Adopt a strengths-based approach that leads you to recalibrate how you view destructive student behaviors and to perceive what students need to break negative cycles. * Head off frustration and burnout with essential self-care techniques that will help you and your students flourish. Each chapter also includes questions and exercises to encourage reflection and extension of the ideas in this book. As an educator, you face the impact of trauma in the classroom every day. Let this book be your guide to seeking solutions rather than dwelling on problems, to building relationships that allow students to grow, thrive, and--most assuredly--learn at high levels.
Call Number: LC4181 .S68 2016
Publication Date: 2016-01-26
More titles can be found by searching the library catalog
Lessons Learned from the Special Education Classroom by Peggy J. GrafwallnerLessons Learned from the Special Education Classroom offers practical techniques and research-based suggestions where all students, regardless of their abilities, are actively engaged in a vigorous, scaffolded, differentiated classroom taught by a compassionate, equitable teacher. With 25 years of classroom expertise, the author shares her down-to-earth suggestions for building classroom community and embracing all learners while offering concrete suggestions for creating respectful parent and student partnerships. At the end of each chapter, Peg outlines how to use the chapter in a professional book club, as a PLC resource, and as a Professional Development supplement.
Publication Date: 2018-10-16
The Trauma-Sensitive Classroom by Patricia A. JenningsFully half the students in U.S. schools have experienced trauma, violence, or chronic stress. In the face of this epidemic, it falls increasingly to teachers to provide the adult support these students need to function in school. But most educators have received little training to prepare them for this role. In her new book, Tish Jennings an internationally recognized leader in the field of social and emotional learning shares research and experiential knowledge about the practices that support students' healing, build their resilience, and foster compassion in the classroom. In Part I, Jennings describes the effects of trauma on body and mind, and how to recognize them in students' behavior. In Part II, she introduces the trauma-sensitive practices she has implemented in her work with schools. And in Part III, she connects the dots between mindfulness, compassion, and resilience. Each chapter contains easy-to-use, practical activities to hone the skills needed to create a compassionate learning environment.
Publication Date: 2018-11-13
Talking, Listening, and Teaching by Thomas S. C. FarrellTalking, Listening, and Teaching demonstrates how important it is for teachers to understand and monitor classroom communication patterns and resolve problems that may hamper students' learning. Using examples from real classrooms, the author explains How classroom talk is different from communication outside the classroom How to gather and analyze data about classroom talk What type of questioning generates good discussions Why and how to give feedback to students How nonverbal communication impacts the classroom This insightful guide to classroom communication, featuring provocative "Thinking About Your Own Classroom" questions, is ideal for teacher study groups and benefits educators who wish to effectively manage this important aspect of teaching and learning.