UpToDate is an evidence-based, physician-authored clinical decision support resource which clinicians trust to make the right point-of-care decisions. *Off campus general access is available through Citrix or by registering on campus first.
This comprehensive research database provides full text for nursing and allied health journals indexed in CINAHL Plus. Additional materials include full-text evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons and continuing education modules.
You can use MedlinePlus to learn about the latest treatments, look up information on a drug or supplement, find out the meanings of words, or view medical videos or illustrations. You can also get links to the latest medical research on your topic or find out about clinical trials on a disease or condition.
The world’s largest biomedical library, NLM maintains and makes available a vast print collection and produces electronic information resources on a wide range of topics that are searched billions of times each year by millions of people around the globe.
This database offers over 40,000 titles. It's super easy to use and can help put your topic in perspective or serve as a secondary source.
More titles can be found by searching the library catalog
Leading and Managing in Nursing by Patricia S. Yoder-WiseLeading and Managing in Nursing, 5th Edition, by Patricia Yoder-Wise, successfully blends evidence-based guidelines with practical application. The new edition is designed to prepare you for the nursing leadership issues of today and tomorrow, providing just the right amount of information to equip you with the tools you need to succeed on the NCLEX and in practice. This thoroughly updated edition is organized around the issues that are central to the success of professional nurses in today's constantly changing healthcare environment, including patient safety, workplace violence, consumer relationships, cultural diversity, resource management, and many more. Merges theory, research, and practical application for an innovative approach to nursing leadership and management. Offers a practical, evidence-based approach to today's key issues, including patient safety, workplace violence, team collaboration, delegation, managing quality and risk, staff education, supervision, and managing costs and budgets. Features easy-to-find boxes, a full-color design, and new photos that highlight key information for quick reference and effective study. Research and Literature Perspective boxes summarize timely articles of interest, helping you apply current research to evidence-based practice. Includes critical thinking questions in every chapter, challenging you to think critically about chapter concepts and apply them to real-life situations. Provides Chapter Checklists for a quick review and study guide to the key ideas in each chapter, theory boxes with pertinent theoretical concepts, a glossary of key terms and definitions, and bulleted lists for applying key content to practice. Features new chapters on Patient Safety and Workplace Violence, illustrating the nurse manager's role in ensuring patient and worker safety. Includes Need to Know Now, bulleted lists of critical points that help you focus on essential research-based information in your transition to the workforce. Gives current research examples in The Evidence boxes at the end of each chapter, illustrating how to apply research to practice. Provides casrevised Challenge and Solutions case scenarios of real-life leadership and management issues, giving you contemporary scenarios covering current issues in nursing leadership and management.
Call Number: RT89 .L43 2011
Publication Date: 2010-10-13
Legal and Ethical Issues in Nursing by Ginny Wacker GuidoThe fifth edition of ""Legal and Ethical Issues in Nursing""is the essential book that combines legal and ethical knowledge for students and practicing nurses in one text. It reflects the continuing influence that the law, legal issues, and the field of ethics have on the professional practice of nursing. Readers familiar with earlier editions will recognize that much of the content in this book is new or updated to mirror changes in the practice of professional nursing. This edition also combines the field of ethics with legal issues, as these two aspects of professional nursing practice cannot truly be separated. This is a perfect resource for graduate nursing students or professional nurses needing an additional reference.
Call Number: KF2915 .N8 G85 2010
Publication Date: 2009-08-11
More titles can be found by searching the library catalog
The Informed Patient by Karen A. Friedman; Sara L. MerwinEven the most capable individuals are challenged when confronted with the complexity of the modern hospital experience. The Informed Patient is a guide and a workbook, divided into topical, focused sections with step-by-step instructions, insights, and tips to illustrate what patients and their families can expect during a hospital stay. Anyone who will experience a hospital stay--or friends or family who may be in charge of a patient's care--will find all the help and advice they could need in the detailed sections that cover every aspect of what they can expect. Karen A. Friedman, MD, and Sara L. Merwin, MPH, offer hands-on advice about how patients, health care providers, and medical staff can work together to achieve good outcomes. Through anecdotes, tips, sidebars, and clinical scenario vignettes, The Informed Patient presents ways to enhance and optimize a hospital stay, from practical advice on obtaining the best care to dealing with the emotional experience of being in the hospital.
Publication Date: 2017-11-15
Advocacy Strategies for Health and Mental Health Professionals by Stuart L. LustigI]t is becoming much more common for mental health providers to become community mental health advocates, and given the complexities and nuances associated with tasks such as getting involved with legislative issues or fund raising, a work like this serves an important and useful purpose. It is concise, yet revealing, and explains concepts in clear and practical language. Most importantly, it delivers on its promise to transform its readers into more savvy participants in the process of advocating for their mental health patients."--Doody's Medical Reviews This book provides a valuable introduction to the discerning mental health practitioner who wants to apply their advocacy skills into their everyday work place."--ACAMH, The Association for Child and Adolescent Mental Health Great book Learning to be an effective advocate in multiple arenas is essential for all health professionals, particularly physicians. This text utilizes a broad definition of advocacy and provides information that can be used by multiple types of providers to learn effective strategies to educate and inform others. It is readable with fascinating case examples and practical tips that can be utilized flexibly across a range of issues, formats and audiences. It is a great addition to the libraries of anyone practicing in the health care field, regardless of specialty or years of practice." Arden D Dingle, MD Program Director, Child and Adolescent Psychiatry Emory University School of Medicine A wealth of advocacy tools for health and mental health professionals at all levels of training and practice are included in this clear and comprehensive volume. Written by medical, legal, and policy experts, it fills a void in the literature by addressing multiple topics in advocacy in the health field as a whole. The text addresses the legislative process, provides step-by-step approaches for using the media, and discusses when to seek an attorney, when to litigate, working with family and community, and funding strategies. It also covers such seldom-addressed topics as leveraging research findings for advocacy purposes. Two outstanding features of the text are a discussion of the rationale for advocacy and a call for readers to examine their own motivations for this work, and a chapter by health educators who provide guidance about advances in learning theory that will help readers assimilate the material. The volume will serve as both a resource for advocacy coursework and as a guide for the independent practitioner of advocacy. Key Features: Provides a wealth of advocacy tools for health professionals at all levels of training and practice Written in a clear, straightforward manner for easy access Includes a unique metacognitive theory that will help readers to thoroughly integrate the information and provides tools for self-analysis Highlights main teaching points with summaries, case studies, and reflection questions
Publication Date: 2014-05-01
Introducing Advocacy by John Tufail; Kate LyonThe book is clearly written and is consistent in style and presentation. Advocacy draws attention to the need for the individual's views to be expressed, communicated and understood by those around them and that advocacy is not what other people think the individual wants. Tufail and Lyons clearly and consistently reinforce this message throughout the book and illustrate this through the use of well-devised case studies to which most people can relate.' - The Frontline of Learning Disability 'The Four Books in this series; 'Introducing Advocacy', 'Rules and Standards', 'Listen Up!' and 'Advocacy in Action' are comprehensive, informative and quite simply a very good introduction for someone new to the world of advocacy.' - Practice Links in Social Work Advocacy for people with disabilities is widely practised, but what about self-advocacy? How often do parents or carers speak `for' you and prevent you being heard? Do you know your rights within advocacy law? The four books in the Speaking Up set were conceived and written specifically to promote self-advocacy to disabled individuals who want to learn how to speak up for themselves. This first book in the series introduces the concept of advocacy and explores appropriate advocacy models, for example peer group supportive models, and examines different forms of advocacy such as campaign advocacy, crisis or intervention advocacy, volunteer advocacy and health complaints advocacy. All four books are illustrated throughout with colour drawings and case studies showing the positive results of self-advocacy on the individuals themselves, as well as on their families and carers. This empowering training package encourages an equal partnership between the advocate and the user where the shared goal is to develop the life skills of the individual with learning difficulties. It is accessible to people with a wide range of literacy needs, including those with high learning needs and is designed for use in formal and informal learning situations, either unsupported or with a facilitator present.