UpToDate is an evidence-based, physician-authored clinical decision support resource which clinicians trust to make the right point-of-care decisions. *Off campus general access is available through Citrix or by registering on campus first.
This comprehensive research database provides full text for nursing and allied health journals indexed in CINAHL Plus. Additional materials include full-text evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons and continuing education modules.
You can use MedlinePlus to learn about the latest treatments, look up information on a drug or supplement, find out the meanings of words, or view medical videos or illustrations. You can also get links to the latest medical research on your topic or find out about clinical trials on a disease or condition.
The world’s largest biomedical library, NLM maintains and makes available a vast print collection and produces electronic information resources on a wide range of topics that are searched billions of times each year by millions of people around the globe.
This database offers over 40,000 titles. It's super easy to use and can help put your topic in perspective or serve as a secondary source.
More titles can be found by searching the library catalog
Administrative Medical Assisting by Christine MaloneAdministrative Medical Assisting includes extensive coverage of the administrative medical assisting profession including the history of the profession, the responsibilities of the administrative medical assistant, responding to emergencies in the medical office, medical practice finances and management of the medical office team, and career strategies for the medical assistant.
Call Number: OVER R728.8 .M278 2010
Publication Date: 2009-01-28
Administrative Competencies by Geri Kale-SmithPart of the new Medical Assisting Made Incredibly Easy series, this text presents the core administrative skills needed by medical assistants in a light-hearted, humorous, readable, extremely practical style that makes teaching and learning fun. A host character guides students through all the administrative skills needed to pass certification exams required by CAAHEP and ABHES. Boxes with eye-catching icons provide practical advice about legal concerns, workplace scenarios, professionalism, and study skills. More than 300 full-color illustrations enhance visual learning. A Study Guide and an online course are available as additional purchases. A free Instructor's Resource CD-ROM including PowerPoint slides and lecture notes is available from Lippincott Williams & Wilkins to instructors who adopt the text.
Call Number: R728.8 .K35 2008
Publication Date: 2007-04-27
Medical Assisting by Lucille Keir; Barbara A. Wise; Connie Krebs; Cathy Kelley-ArneyThis proven comprehensive learning system covers all the administrative, clinical, and general competencies designated by the major accrediting bodies for the entry-level medical assistant. Coverage of the structure and function of each body system is included as well as associated diagnostic examinations and diseases and disorders. This exciting new edition covers the knowledge, skills, attitudes, and values necessary for you to become a successful, multi-skilled medical assistant.
Call Number: OVER R728.8 .K44 2008
Publication Date: 2007-03-20
More titles can be found by searching the library catalog
Communication for Healthcare Professionals by Michael P. PaganoPromotes an interdisciplinary approach to the study of health communication According to the Joint Commission, over 75% of all serious medical errors in this country result from miscommunication. Based in these adverse realities and the author philosophy that communication is a clinical skill integral to effective health care delivery, this comprehensive text addresses thetheories and abilities needed by all health care providers. The only text written specifically for students of nursing, medicine, physical therapy, pharmacy, dentistry, physician assistants and opticians, this book incorporates recommendations for specific multimedia, suggestions for class discussion and interactive case studies to provide a rich and multi-perspective learning experience for gaining optimal expertise in effective health communication The author underscores the importance of developing and maintaining successful relationships with patients, peers, and colleagues as a cornerstone ofeffective health care outcomes. With an emphasis on interactive learning, the text utilizescommunication theories to analyze verbal and non-verbalbehaviors in diverse health care contexts and assess which are more effective and why. Summaries at the end of each chapter discuss health communicationoutcomes. Chapters cover interpersonal and gendered communication, provider-patient communication, intercultural communication, organizationalcommunication, team communication, malpractice, palliative care, end-of-life communication, and many other topics. Key Features: Fosters a patient-centered, interdisciplinary, multidimensional learning experience for health care students Recommends experiential learning using videos, films, and related discussion exercises Presents case study role-plays Provides companion case study resource to enhance learning objectives
Publication Date: 2016-09-28
Medical Terminology by Lippincott Williams & WilkinsFeeling overwhelmed by medical terminology? Grab a lifeline: the newly updated Medical Terminology Made Incredibly Easy!®, 4th Edition offers clear and simple explanations of vital terms and their everyday use in nursing practice. Backed by humor and chock full of illustrations, this enjoyable text is the perfect backup to class materials and the ideal on-the-job refresher for experienced nurses and all healthcare professionals. Learn how to decipher complex terms from the roots up--and take your confidence to a whole new level. Be expertly guided through the choppy waters of medical terminology ... NEW and updated content clarifies medical terminology concepts with clear definitions and illustrations Explains the meanings, roots, and pronunciation of terms as used in everyday practice, including: Names for all major body systems: skeletal, muscular, integumentary, cardiovascular, respiratory, gastrointestinal, urinary, reproductive, neurologic, endocrine, blood and lymphatic, and sensory systems Terms and phrases used in maternal health, pharmacology, and mental health Breaks down complex medical terms into recognizable components--common prefixes, roots, and suffixes--to help you identify the meaning of any term Offers a strong anatomy and physiology overview backed by numerous images, including a large image of each organ system Chapter features provide learning aids and on-the-unit support: Just the facts --quick summary of chapter content Vocabulary builders --end-of-chapter games such as crossword puzzles, matching roots and prefixes to their correct meanings, and fill-in-the-blank sentences to help you retain learning Pump up your pronunciation --phonetic spellings make it easy to pronounce complex terms Anatomically speaking --anatomy illustrations, with pronunciations of key terms Memory jogger --stories and tools that support retention "Nurse Joy"and "Jake" --explain key concepts and offer friendly problem-solving tips Beyond the dictionary --learn the origins of words, to help you remember word roots and dissect meanings The real world --explains informal terms used in daily practice About the Clinical Editor David Woodruff, MSN, RN-BC, CNS, CNE, FNAP, is Faculty Development Specialist at the Center for Faculty Excellence, Chamberlain College of Nursing, in Cleveland, Ohio.