UpToDate is an evidence-based, physician-authored clinical decision support resource which clinicians trust to make the right point-of-care decisions. *Off campus general access is available through Citrix or by registering on campus first.
This comprehensive research database provides full text for nursing and allied health journals indexed in CINAHL Plus. Additional materials include full-text evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons and continuing education modules.
You can use MedlinePlus to learn about the latest treatments, look up information on a drug or supplement, find out the meanings of words, or view medical videos or illustrations. You can also get links to the latest medical research on your topic or find out about clinical trials on a disease or condition.
The world’s largest biomedical library, NLM maintains and makes available a vast print collection and produces electronic information resources on a wide range of topics that are searched billions of times each year by millions of people around the globe.
A collection of powerful short therapist and patient videos available 24/7 for in-class or online teaching.
More titles can be found by searching the library catalog
Physical Rehabilitation by Susan B. O'Sullivan; Thomas J. Schmitz; George FulkIncorporates current research in basic and clinical sciences of physical therapy examination and treatment procedures. Features "Evidence Summary" boxes that evaluate current research on specific topics and support evidence-based practice. Enhances critical thinking skills with review questions and clinical case studies with suggested answers available online. Covers strategies for improving motor control and motor learning, neuroplasticity and intensive task oriented training, locomotor training, fall prevention, and technologies (virtual reality, body-weight support and treadmill systems, robotics, prosthetics, orthotics, wheelchairs) Integrates the examination procedures, goals, and interventions presented in APTA's Guide to Physical Therapist Practice.
Call Number: ACADEMIC RM700 .O88 2014
Publication Date: 2013-07-23
The PTA Handbook by Kathleen A. Curtis; Peggy DeCelle NewmanThe updated Second Edition of The PTA Handbook is a unique textbook that serves students from pre-admission into a physical therapist assistant program, through the academic program, up to career entry and practice as a physical therapist assistant. Dr. Kathleen A. Curtis and Peggy DeCelle Newman have updated this Second Edition to reflect current practice standards, including updated core professional documents addressing direction and supervision to align with developments in the physical therapy profession. The PTA Handbook, Second Edition expands on the popular first edition and includes an overview of the physical therapy profession, the physical therapist (PT) - physical therapist assistant (PTA) preferred relationship, evidenced-based practice and information literacy, diversity and cultural proficiency, and planning for life-long learning and leadership development. What is new in the Second Edition: * Includes key documents that guide the provision of physical therapy services and describe the relationship between delivery of care by the PT and PTA * Career development strategies for the PTA, including criteria for Recognition of Advanced Proficiency for the Physical Therapist Assistant and leadership roles in professional, clinical, and community contexts * Case studies and "Putting It Into Practice" exercises are user-friendly, realistic approaches to enhance student learning and comprehension through immediate and meaningful application of the topic being discussed * Written as a strategy-based guide to success for PTA students in meeting the required demands and expectations during a PTA program as well as in practice in the field The PTA Handbook, Second Edition also covers information that will assist advisors and counselors in college and work re-entry programs to provide guidance regarding the physical therapy profession and specifically the differing roles of the PTA and PT. This text will also serve as a key guide for groups of 21st century learners frequently seeking PTA education, including first-generation college students, adult learners, career re-entry, second-language learners, and learners with disabilities. The PTA Handbook: Keys to Success in School and Career for the Physical Therapist Assistant, Second Edition is an essential reference for students, educators, advisors and counselors, and therapy managers who want to maximize the potential for success of the PTA.
Call Number: Academic RM705 .C873 2015
Publication Date: 2014-11-15
More titles can be found by searching the library catalog
Mechanisms and Management of Pain for the Physical Therapist by Kathleen A. SlukaComprehensive in scope and invaluable for both practitioners and students, Mechanisms and Management of Pain for the Physical Therapist, 2nd Edition, thoroughly covers the wide range of issues requiring the interdisciplinary management of pain. Joined by more than 20 international contributors to this IASP publication, Dr. Kathleen Sluka provides a practical, evidence-based framework for understanding the basics of pain mechanisms and management. This highly regarded, updated text covers the basics of pain neurobiology and reviews evidence on the mechanisms of action of physical therapy treatments, as well as their clinical effectiveness in specific pain syndromes. The second edition features: Basic Concepts and Mechanisms - provides a clear infrastructure for the rest of the book. Physical Therapy Pain Management - focuses attention on pain regardless of medical diagnosis, using evidence to support clinical decision making. Interdisciplinary Pain Management - includes both medical management of pain and psychological approaches to pain. Case Studies - discuss a series of pain syndromes using an evidence-based approach.
Publication Date: 2016-03-24
Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation QandA Review by Lyn D. Weiss; Harry J. Lenaburg; Jay WeissNote to Readers: Publisher does not guarantee quality or access to any included digital components if book is purchased through a third-party seller. Now with a free mobile & web app with print purchase Revised, expanded, and updated new edition of the first and only Q&A review for physical medicine and rehabilitation. Question and answer format remains one of the most effective methods for self-study and exam preparation. Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation QA Review, Second Edition is a comprehensive, active self-assessment tool for medical students, residents, and attending physicians. Configured to help professionals quickly and efficiently review core topics, the book covers in detail the breadth and scope of physical medicine & rehabilitation (PM&R) knowledge and practice. Now with 16 sections addressing key concepts and including emerging high-value content areas, the expanded second edition contains over 1,850 multiple-choice questions with answers and explanations. The must-know information in the PM&R curriculum for learning, individual self-assessment, and board review is at your fingertips. Key FeaturesComprehensive coverage of the knowledge base and clinical practice areas necessary for successMore questions Over 350 new questions on pain medications and conversion equivalents, gait patterns and analysis, spinal cord injury, and much moreCompletely new chapter on Ultrasound and Regenerative MedicineAll questions and explanations reviewed and updated for currency and comprehensiveness; new illustrations added to enhance understanding App included Includes all the high-quality content from the book Information at your fingertips anytime, anywhere.Available on iOS, Android, and the web, with a powerful, simple-to-use interface.1,730+ practice questionsAPP INCLUDED WITH PRINT PURCHASE