UpToDate is an evidence-based, physician-authored clinical decision support resource which clinicians trust to make the right point-of-care decisions. *Off campus general access is available through Citrix or by registering on campus first.
This comprehensive research database provides full text for nursing and allied health journals indexed in CINAHL Plus. Additional materials include full-text evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons and continuing education modules.
You can use MedlinePlus to learn about the latest treatments, look up information on a drug or supplement, find out the meanings of words, or view medical videos or illustrations. You can also get links to the latest medical research on your topic or find out about clinical trials on a disease or condition.
The world’s largest biomedical library, NLM maintains and makes available a vast print collection and produces electronic information resources on a wide range of topics that are searched billions of times each year by millions of people around the globe.
This database offers over 40,000 titles. It's super easy to use and can help put your topic in perspective or serve as a secondary source.
More titles can be found by searching the library catalog
Mosby's Comprehensive Review of Radiography by William J. CallawayA complete review, this guide covers the five major subject areas of the ARRT exam in radiography. And it's an effective study guide for many radiography courses! Written in outline format, each review of a subject is followed by questions related specifically to that area. A companion CD-ROM includes a pool of over 1,400 questions that may be randomly combined to generate a virtually limitless number of mock exams. This edition also provides valuable information on preparing resumes and cover letters, interviewing, and career planning to help you make the transition to a successful career. Content review in outline format includes the five major subject areas covered on the ARRT exam, helping you concentrate on the most important information. Thorough coverage of digital and computed radiography reflects the increased emphasis of these topics on the Registry exam. Review questions with answers let you practice AART exam-style questions, helping you assess your preparedness and identify areas that need additional study. Rationales for correct and incorrect answers are included in the appendix. Mock exams in the book and on CD let you test your knowledge and practice with the Registry exam format. CD allows practice in tutorial mode - with feedback after you answer each question - or in exam mode, with feedback only after you complete the entire test. Study tools on CD include:. Electronic flashcards with formulas, key terms, and important topics Bookmarking of questions for later study Rationales for correct and incorrect answers Test tips for difficult questions Test scores are saved and dated Career preparation advice covers continuing education requirements, career advancement, and basic financial planning - such as negotiating salary and benefits. Expanded coverage of digital imaging and ethical standards reflects the increased emphasis of these topics on the Registry exam. Situational Judgment Test questions provide practice with the new type of Registry question requiring you to select the best response in an ethics-related situation. 232 new questions have been added to the CD - for a total of 2,450 questions in the book and CD - to ensure that you have plenty of practice opportunities.
Call Number: RC78.17 .C35 2008
Publication Date: 2008-01-23
Introduction to Radiologic Sciences and Patient Care by Arlene M. Adler; Richard R. CarltonLearn the professional and patient care skills you need for clinical practice! A clear, concise introduction to the imaging sciences, Introduction to Radiologic Sciences and Patient Care meets the standards set by the American Society of Radiologic Technologists (ASRT) Curriculum Guide and the American Registry of Radiologic Technologists (ARRT) Task List for certification examinations. Covering the big picture, expert authors Arlene M. Adler and Richard R. Carlton provide a complete overview of the radiologic sciences professions and of all aspects of patient care. More than 300 photos and line drawings clearly demonstrate patient care procedures. Step-by-step procedures make it easy to follow learn skills and prepare for clinicals. Chapter outlines and objectives help you master key concepts. Key Terms with definitions are presented at the beginning of each chapter. Up-to-date references are provided at the end of each chapter. Appendices prepare you for the practice environment by including practice standards, professional organizations, state licensing agencies, the ARRT code of ethics, and patient's rights information. 100 new photos and 160 new full-color line drawings show patient care procedures. Updates ensure that you are current with the Fundamentals and Patient Care sections of the ASRT core curriculum guidelines. New and expanded coverage is added to the chapters on critical thinking, radiographic imaging, vital signs, professional ethics, and medical law. Student resources on a companion Evolve website help you master procedures with patient care lab activities and review questions along with 40 patient care videos.
Call Number: R898 .I565 2012
Publication Date: 2011-02-14
Digital Radiography by Euclid SeeramDigital Radiography: An Introduction for Technologists, presents the physical principles and technical description of digital radiography imaging systems and associated technologies. This book functions as both a primary source for introductory digital imaging courses and as a reference for radiologic technologists and other imaging personnel. The book begins by exploring the many digital image acquisition imaging modalities such as computed radiography (CR), flat-panel digital radiography, digital fluoroscopy, and digital mammography systems in detail, followed by an outline of the essential elements of digital image processing. Associated technologies such as picture archiving and communication systems (PACS) and medical imaging informatics (MII) are also outlined. Finally, the book concludes with a description of quality control procedures for digital radiography.
Call Number: RC78.7 .D35 S44 2011
Publication Date: 2010-01-22
More titles can be found by searching the library catalog
Biomedical Imaging by Tim Salditt; Timo Aspelmeier; Sebastian AeffnerCovering both physical as well as mathematical and algorithmic foundations, this graduate textbook provides the reader with an introduction into modern biomedical imaging and image processing and reconstruction. These techniques are not only based on advanced instrumentation for image acquisition, but equally on new developments in image processing and reconstruction to extract relevant information from recorded data. To this end, the present book offers a quantitative treatise of radiography, computed tomography, and medical physics. ContentsIntroductionDigital image processingEssentials of medical x-ray physicsTomographyRadiobiology, radiotherapy, and radiation protectionPhase contrast radiographyObject reconstruction under nonideal conditions
Publication Date: 2017-10-23
Research Methods in Radiology by Andrea S. Doria (Editor); George Tomlinson (Editor); Joseph Beyene (Editor); Rahim Moineddin (Editor)Research Methods in Radiology provides concise, practical insights on how to design clinical and experimental studies in diagnostic imaging. This unique resource encompasses contributions from leaders in academic radiology as well as top epidemiologists, biostatisticians, and librarians with vast multidisciplinary and radiology research experience. The material reflects years of expertise teaching core biostatistics in radiology principles to residents, fellows, radiologists, and epidemiologists. Given the vast amount of published information on research methodology and statistics in radiology, the authors' goal was to write a high-yield review and study tool rather than a comprehensive book. Key topics are succinctly addressed in each chapter, including measurements in radiology; decision analysis in radiology; and systemic reviews, evidence-based imaging, and knowledge translation. Online exercises related to each topic enable residents to prepare for radiology board examinations and research radiologists to apply knowledge to clinical studies. Key Highlights Introductory chapters on analysis of diagnostic tests, linear and logistic regression, meta-analysis, statistical inference, and economic evaluation provide easy-to-follow tutorials Each chapter includes learning objectives, basic concepts, supplementary tables, and ancillary online material Case studies with images, graphs, and tables highlight primary "take home" points Sample size calculations are illustrated for a wide range of research questions Code is included for use in R, free open-source software for statistical analysis This book is an indispensable review of research methodology for radiology students and residents. Practicing clinicians will also benefit from this precisely focused reference tool on clinical and experimental research.
Publication Date: 2018-02-09
Radcases Emergency Radiology by Eugene Yu; Kieran Murphy; Nasir Jaffer; TaeBong Chung; Ali M. Naraghi; Dheeraj Rajan; Martin O'Malley; Patrik RogallaAll the key Radiology cases for your rounds, rotations, and exams -- in print and online! Emergency Radiology presents the challenging cases that are most likely to be encountered by physicians and radiologists in the emergency room. It helps ER physicians correctly interpret images and thus quickly make initial diagnoses on both common and less common disorders. This book can also be used as an effective review guide for those studying for the radiology board exams. Key Features: Examples of critical cases that must be accurately diagnosed to avert potential disaster in daily practice and on exams Clearly labeled, high-quality images help you absorb key findings at-a-glance A scratch-off code in each book that provides a year of free access to a searchable online database of 250 must-know cases, the 100 cases in the book, plus an additional 150 cases available only online
Publication Date: 2015-03-12
Radiology Review Manual by Wolfgang F. Dahnert; Wolfgang F. DahnertBMA Medical Book Awards 2018?: Radiology - Highly Commended ?The British Medical Association honored Radiology Review Manual with this prestigious award. For more than 25 years, Dr. Dähnert's Radiology Review Manual has earned its reputation as the green "bible" for board exam preparation, in teaching situations, and in the daily practice of radiology. A logical organization, extensive lists of image findings and differential diagnoses, an accessible outline format, and a thorough index have made this reference the #1 choice for success on the written boards. The Eighth Edition has been completely updated to provide head-to-heel coverage of the information needed for today's general radiology practice. NEW to this edition: A section on General Radiology has been created that covers techniques in nuclear medicine as well as contrast media, statistics, sedation, analgesia, and local anesthesia. Mnemonics have been added to help make need-to-know facts and trivia easier to find, review, and remember. Your book purchase includes a complimentary download of the enhanced eBook for iOS, Android, PC & Mac. Take advantage of these practical features that will improve your eBook experience: The ability to download the eBook on multiple devices at one time -- providing a seamless reading experience online or offline Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that allow you to search within this book, or across your entire library of VitalSource eBooks Multiple viewing options that enable you to scale images and text to any size without losing page clarity as well as responsive design The ability to highlight text and add notes with one click