The Alcohol Studies Database contains records for books, book chapters, journal articles, government documents, conference papers, and dissertations covering biomedical and psychosocial aspects of alcohol use, as well as a growing number of records on other drug use/abuse.
This database offers over 40,000 titles. It's super easy to use and can help put your topic in perspective or serve as a secondary source.
More titles can be found by searching the library catalog
Drugs by Peggy Daniels BeckerThis volume deals with the subject of drugs. In recognizing the intimate relationship between subject and reader, this collection of essays weaves together different points of view to make complex issues less intimidating and more accessible. Readers will evaluate such topics as whether addiction is a disease, whether marijuana is harmful, and if teen prescription drug overdoses are increasing. They will consider whether home drug tests are helpful, and why random drug testing in schools is controversial. Essay sources include the National Institute on Drug Abuse and the U.S. Drug Enforcement Administration.
Call Number: HV5809.5 .D36 2011
Publication Date: 2011-01-04
Never Enough by Judith GriselA NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER From a renowned behavioral neuroscientist and recovering addict, a rare page-turning work of science that draws on personal insights to reveal how drugs work, the dangerous hold they can take on the brain, and the surprising way to combat today's epidemic of addiction. Judith Grisel was a daily drug user and college dropout when she began to consider that her addiction might have a cure, one that she herself could perhaps discover by studying the brain. Now, after twenty-five years as a neuroscientist, she shares what she and other scientists have learned about addiction, enriched by captivating glimpses of her personal journey. In Never Enough, Grisel reveals the unfortunate bottom line of all regular drug use: there is no such thing as a free lunch. All drugs act on the brain in a way that diminishes their enjoyable effects and creates unpleasant ones with repeated use. Yet they have their appeal, and Grisel draws on anecdotes both comic and tragic from her own days of using as she limns the science behind the love of various drugs, from marijuana to alcohol, opiates to psychedelics, speed to spice. With more than one in five people over the age of fourteen addicted, drug abuse has been called the most formidable health problem worldwide, and Grisel delves with compassion into the science of this scourge. She points to what is different about the brains of addicts even before they first pick up a drink or drug, highlights the changes that take place in the brain and behavior as a result of chronic using, and shares the surprising hidden gifts of personality that addiction can expose. She describes what drove her to addiction, what helped her recover, and her belief that a "cure" for addiction will not be found in our individual brains but in the way we interact with our communities. Set apart by its color, candor, and bell-clear writing, Never Enough is a revelatory look at the roles drugs play in all of our lives and offers crucial new insight into how we can solve the epidemic of abuse.
Call Number: RC564 .G75 2019
Publication Date: 2019-02-19
Drugs, Society, and Human Behavior by Carl L. Hart; Charles J. Ksir; Oakley S. RayDrugs, Society and Human Behavior provides the latest information on drug use and its effects on society as well as on the individual. Trusted for more than 30 years by both instructors and students, this authoritative resource examines drugs and drug use from a variety of perspectives--behavioral, pharmacological, historical, social, legal, and clinical. The text not only gives students the tools and information to make better personal decisions about psychoactive substances but also promotes a deeper understanding of the individual problems and social conflicts that arise when others misuse and abuse these substances. Accompanying the text are instructor and student resources on the Online Learning Center.
Call Number: RM316 .R39 2011
Publication Date: 2010-09-28
More titles can be found by searching the library catalog
Drug Abuse Sourcebook by Angela L. WilliamsProvides information about abuse of illegal drugs and misuse of prescription and over-the-counter medications. Describes specific drugs, their health impacts, addiction potential, and harms to individuals, families and communities. Drug treatment and recovery options and information on drug testing and drug-use prevention.
Publication Date: 2019-02-22
The Dangers of Drug Abuse by Jodee RedmondHow much do you know about the Dangers of Drug Abuse? The class of drugs known as opioids includes both illicit street drugs like heroin and fentanyl, as well as popular painkillers that are legally prescribed by doctors. All opioids can pose a threat to the users physical and mental health if abused. Drug abuse also has the potential to affect a persons life in many ways. This book provides the facts about the current opioid epidemic that is sweeping the United States today. It examines the most dangerous drugsincluding two new deadly new opioids that are on the street. The book also focuses on the problems and issues that result from drug abuse and addiction. Unfortunately, the opioid crisis shows no signs of slowing down, and greater education is required to make sure it does not impact future generations. Each title in this series includes color photos throughout, and back matter including: an index and further reading lists for books and internet resources. Key Icons appear throughout the books in this series in an effort to encourage library readers to build knowledge, gain awareness, explore possibilities and expand their viewpoints through our content rich non-fiction books. Key Icons in this series are as follows: Words to Understand are shown at the front of each chapter with definitions. These words are set in boldfaced type in that chapter, so that readers are able to reference back to the definitions--building their vocabulary and enhancing their reading comprehension. Sidebars are highlighted graphics with content rich material within that allows readers to build knowledge and broaden their perspectives by weaving together additional information to provide realistic and holistic perspectives. Educational Videos are offered in chapters through the use of a QR code, that,
Publication Date: 2017-01-01
Over the Edge by Donna Aguiniga; Martha Cox; Julie Pratt; Karen Shelby; Mary Thompson"This issue guide was prepared for the National Issues Forums Institute in collaboration with the Kettering Foundation. Issue guides in this series are used by civic and educational organizations interested in addressing public issues. These organizations use the books in locally initiated forums convened each year in hundreds of communities. For a description of the National Issues Forums, log on to the website: www.nifi.org." -- Inside front cover
Publication Date: 2015-01-01
Co-Occurring Mental Illness and Substance Use Disorders by Jonathan D. Avery (Editor); John W. Barnhill (Editor)Co-occurring Mental Illness and Substance Use Disorders: A Guide to Diagnosis and Treatment provides a clinically detailed, evidence-based, and exhaustive examination of a topic rarely plumbed in psychiatry texts, despite the fact that co-occurring mental illness and substance use disorders are common. The authors argue for a more holistic and integrated approach, calling for clinicians to tactfully but persistently evaluate patients for a broad range of co-occurring disorders before determining appropriate treatment. Focusing on a substance use disorder in isolation, without determining whether another psychiatric disorder is co-occurring, can doom treatment efforts, and the reverse also is true. To help clinicians keep the big picture in mind, the book is organized around 18 cases, each of which addresses a particular diagnostic skill (e.g., assessment), group of disorders commonly comorbid with substance use disorders (e.g., PTSD, eating disorders), specific treatment (e.g., pharmacological interventions), or special population (e.g., adolescents). This case-based approach makes it easy for readers to understand strategies and master transferable techniques when dealing with their own patients. * Because the initial face-to-face sessions are especially important with this patient population, the book includes chapters on the diagnostic assessment and the initial interview, as well as offering interviewing tips throughout to help the clinician develop the necessary care and skill in this arena. Also included is a chapter on integrating motivational interviewing into the treatment.* Each of the 18 cases stands alone, allowing the reader flexibility in using the text. For example, the 18 cases and discussions can be read sequentially, or as needed, depending on the reader's special interest or current need. * The book also features chapters on how to effectively work with patients whose disorders might be affecting other members of a patient's family, since the likelihood of a successful outcome is enhanced if an integrated treatment plan is developed for their co-occurring disorders.* The questions that accompany each chapter can be used as an organizational tool prior to reading or to test knowledge and comprehension afterward.* The text is completely up-to date and provides DSM-5 diagnostic information essential to each case. Co-occurring Mental Illness and Substance Use Disorders: A Guide to Diagnosis and Treatment offers a straightforward approach to people with complicated presentations, offering mental health clinicians the skills they require to effectively assess, diagnose, and treat these patients and their families.