This comprehensive research database provides full text for nursing and allied health journals indexed in CINAHL Plus. Additional materials include full-text evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons and continuing education modules.
You can use MedlinePlus to learn about the latest treatments, look up information on a drug or supplement, find out the meanings of words, or view medical videos or illustrations. You can also get links to the latest medical research on your topic or find out about clinical trials on a disease or condition.
The world’s largest biomedical library, NLM maintains and makes available a vast print collection and produces electronic information resources on a wide range of topics that are searched billions of times each year by millions of people around the globe.
This database offers over 40,000 titles. It's super easy to use and can help put your topic in perspective or serve as a secondary source.
More titles can be found by searching the library catalog
Medical-Surgical Nursing by Mary Digiulio; Jim KeoghPublisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The quick and easy way to master medical-surgicalnursing and use your knowledge in real-world situations If you're looking for a fun, fast review that boils medical-surgical nursing down to its most essential, must-know points your search ends here! Medical-SurgicalNursing DeMYSTiFieD, 2nd Edition is a complete yet concise overview of the major body systems and the diseases and disorders that can affect them. You will learn about hallmark signs and symptoms, treatment, and nursing intervention so you have the knowledge to help your patients as a student and as a nurse once you start your career. Studying is easy and effective with key objectives, important terms, brief overviews, tables and diagrams, andNCLEX-style questions throughout the book. The bookends with a comprehensive final exam that covers all thecontent found in Medical-Surgical Nursing DeMYSTiFieD, 2nd Edition. This fast and easy guide offers: Learning objectives at the beginning of each chapter An NCLEX-style quiz at the end of each chapter to reinforce learning and pinpoint weaknesses Coverage of diagnostic tests and treatment options A final exam at the end of the book A time-saving approach to performing better on an exam or at work Simple enough for a beginner, but challenging enough for an advanced student, Medical-Surgical NursingDeMYSTiFieD is your shortcut to mastering this essential nursing topic. Great for course exams and as an NCLEX review!
Call Number: RD99 .B78 D54 2014
Publication Date: 2013-10-15
Ethics, Legal Issues and Professionalism in Surgical Technology by Julia A. JacksonEthics, Legal Issues and Professionalism for Surgical Technology introduces you to key, non-technical aspects of professional practice. Understanding and applying the proper concepts regarding ethics, legal issues, and professionalism is vital for a surgical technologist. This book offers you a foundation in these principles so you can make the right decisions and perform in a manner that renders the highest quality patient care possible. You will develop a base of knowledge in the fundamentals of ethics and legal issues and then progress through theory on moral reasoning, human value development and the bio-psychosocial needs of the patient. Controversial topics will be introduced for analysis and discussion. From there, you move on to legal terminology, sources and types of law, legal doctrines, and liabilities. The final section focuses on professional practice and exposes you to the basic knowledge and behaviors a professional must have.
Call Number: RD32.3 .J33 2007
Publication Date: 2006-07-12
All-In-One Nursing Care Planning Resource by Pamela L. SwearingenThe only book with nursing care plans for all core clinical areas, All-In-One Care Planning Resource, 3rd Edition, provides 100 care plans with the nursing diagnoses and interventions you need to know to care for patients in all settings. It includes care plans for pediatric, maternity, and psychiatric nursing in addition to medical-surgical nursing, so you can use just one book throughout your entire nursing curriculum. A new online care plan tutorial walks you through the steps of creating care plans, and updates keep you current with the latest clinical developments, new pharmacologic treatments, QSEN patient safety standards, and evidence-based practice guidelines. Edited by Pamela Swearingen, this book is known for its clear, straightforward approach, its practical and consistent format, and its detailed rationales. NANDA-I nursing diagnoses are incorporated throughout the text to keep you current with NANDA-I terminology and the latest diagnoses. Color-coded sections for medical-surgical, maternity, pediatric, and psychiatric-mental health nursing care plans make it easier to find information quickly. A consistent format for each care plan allows faster lookup of topics, with headings for Overview/Pathophysiology, Health Care Setting, Assessment, Diagnostic Tests, Nursing Diagnoses, Desired Outcomes, Interventions with Rationales, and Patient-Family Teaching and Discharge Planning. Prioritized nursing diagnoses are listed in order of importance and physiologic patient needs. A two-column format for nursing assessments/interventions and rationales makes it easier to scan information. Detailed rationales for each nursing intervention help you to apply concepts to specific patient situations in clinical practice. Outcome criteria with specific timelines help you to set realistic goals for nursing outcomes and provide quality, cost-effective care. NEW! Care plan for normal labor and birth addresses nursing care for the client experiencing normal labor and delivery. UPDATED content is written by practicing clinicians and covers the latest clinical developments, new pharmacologic treatments, patient safety considerations, and evidence-based practice guidelines. NEW full-color design makes the text more user friendly, and includes NEW color-coded tabs and improved cross-referencing and navigation aids for faster lookup of information. NEW! Leaf icon highlights coverage of complementary and alternative therapies including information on over-the-counter herbal and other therapies and how these can interact with conventional medications.
Call Number: RT49 .A45 2016
Publication Date: 2015-02-02
Medical-Surgical Nursing by Donna D. Ignatavicius; M. Linda Workman; Cherie RebarAwarded second place in the 2018 AJN Book of the Year Awards in Medical-Surgical Nursing! Healthcare is evolving at an incredible pace and with it, the roles and responsibilities of the medical-surgical nurse. Ensure you are fully equipped to thrive and adapt in this ever-changing nursing environment with Ignatavicius, Workman, and Rebar''s Medical-Surgical Nursing: Concepts for Interprofessional Collaborative Care, 9th Edition. This trendsetting text not only covers all essential adult health knowledge, but also reinforces the application, conceptual thinking, and clinical judgment skills that today''s nurses need to stay one step ahead in delivering exceptional patient care, no matter the environment. As with previous "Iggy" editions, you''ll find a unique collaborative care approach to adult health nursing, a thorough integration of QSEN competencies, extensive NCLEX® Exam preparation, and a direct, reader-friendly tone throughout the text. This ninth edition incorporates two emerging and complementary trends - the Core Competencies for Interprofessional Collaborative Practice and a more conceptual approach teaching and learning - areas that will ground you in how to think like a nurse and how to apply the knowledge you gain from the text to clinical practice. There are a lot of med-surg nursing texts out there, but there''s only one that combines all the information, concepts, and on-the-job realities in a way that makes perfect sense: "Iggy!" Trendsetting QSEN integration emphasizes patient safety and evidence-based practice with Nursing Safety Priority boxes, including Drug Alerts, Critical Rescues, and Action Alerts. UNIQUE! Emphasis on clinical judgment helps you develop skills in clinical reasoning and clinical decision-making when applying concepts to clinical situations. Strong emphasis on NCLEX Exam preparation includes chapter-opening Learning Outcomes and chapter-ending Get Ready for the NCLEX Examination! sections organized by NCLEX Client Needs Categories, plus NCLEX Examination Challenge questions, with an answer key in the back of the book and on the Evolve companion website. Exceptionally readable content features shorter sentences, straightforward vocabulary, and a direct, reader-friendly writing style. NEW! Enhanced emphasis on conceptual teaching and learning features a strong integration of nursing concepts and exemplars throughout the book via new concept overview chapters, chapter-opening concept lists, and a focus on concept exemplars within disorders chapters. NEW! Integration of interprofessional collaborative practice takes the book''s hallmark collaborative management approach to the next level via new collaboration-focused Clinical Judgment Challenges, integration of a new Teamwork & Interprofessional Collaboration concept, and in-depth integration within TEACH lesson plans. NEW! Deeper integration of Tanner''s model of clinical nursing judgment utilizes Tanner''s terminology within nursing process headings, NCLEX Examination Challenge questions, and Key Points. NEW! Stronger emphasis on health promotion and community-based care includes revised and updated content throughout the text to reflect the reality that most adult health care no longer takes place as long-term stays in high-acuity settings. NEW! More consistent, interprofessional terminology for patient problems promotes interprofessional collaboration through the promotion of a common healthcare language. NEW! Updated content throughout reflects the most recent changes in practice and the latest evidence-based guidelines, particularly national and international treatment guidelines and protocols. NEW! More consistent learning outcomes now incorporate QSEN and nursing concepts in a more consistent and intentional manner from chapter to chapter.
Call Number: OVER RT41 .M4892 2018 1
Publication Date: 2017-10-05
More titles can be found by searching the library catalog
Medical-Surgical Nursing Made Incredibly Easy! by Lippincott Williams and Wilkins Staff; Springhouse Publishing Company StaffGet the vital concepts, data, and how-to on medical-surgical nursing with the newly updated Medical-Surgical Nursing Made Incredibly Easy, 4th Edition . This fun-but-informative guide uses colorful drawings and diagrams to demonstrate the mechanisms and clinical indications of the most common disorders found in each body system--followed by clear-cut direction on assessments, interventions, and evidence-based treatments. An ideal support to class materials and NCLEX ® preparation, this is also the perfect on-the-spot refresher for nurses in every kind of medical-surgical practice. NEW real-world guidance from "Nurse Joy" and "Nurse Jake"--expert tips and insights for medical-surgical nursing situations NEW quick-scan format with concise, easy-to-remember bulleted content Hundreds of colorful drawings, charts, and diagrams illustrating vital points Chapters covering disorders by body system , including cardiovascular, respiratory, endocrine, renal and urologic, reproductive, and musculoskeletal Current data and best practices on assessing and treating common disorders, including: Anatomy, etiology, and physiology Health Physical assessments Diagnostic testing Current NANDA International nursing diagnosis guidelines Special chapter features: A closer look - Illustrations that explain anatomy, physiology, and complex pathways Education edge - Patient teaching tips Just the facts - Brief outline of content at the start of every chapter What do I do? - Steps to take in emergency situations Weighing the evidence - Evidence-based practice pointers that support nursing actions Memory jogger - Memory tricks that help you remember key concepts and treatments Quick quiz - End-of-chapter riddles and multiple-choice questions to help you retain vital content Step-by-step, expert guidance on vital skills, with real-life patient scenarios for areas including: Cancer, obesity, and gerontology care End-of-life care Fluids and electrolytes Acid-base balance Pain management Blood transfusion reactions Classifying and treating heart failure Use of CT scans, MRIs, and x-rays for each body system Preoperative care Surgical processes Online supplementary materials: 1,000 NCLEX®-style questions in current NCLEX® exam format NCLEX® preparation tutorials Clinical simulation case studies Test-taking strategies and study techniques
Publication Date: 2016-09-14
Greenfield's Surgery by Michael W. MulhollandRevised, updated, and enhanced from cover to cover, the Sixth Edition of Greenfield's Surgery: Scientific Principles and Practice remains the gold standard text in the field of surgery. It reflects surgery's rapid changes, new technologies, and innovative techniques, integrating new scientific knowledge with evolving changes in surgical care. Updates to this edition include new editors and contributors, and a greatly enhanced visual presentation. Balancing scientific advances with clinical practice, Greenfield's Surgery is an invaluable resource for today's residents and practicing surgeons. Key Features: Features enhanced, full-color illustrations, clinical photographs, key teaching points, and decision-making algorithms for quick reference to key information. Covers general scientific principles such as inflammation, shock, nutrition, pain management, and much more, followed by surgical practice chapters arranged by organ system. Introduces two new editors, Hasan Alam, MD and Timothy Pawlik, MD, who bring a fresh perspective and vision to this classic reference. Showcases the scientific and clinical expertise of more than 200 contributing authors, each an active practitioner in the field of surgery. Includes two new chapters on Obesity and Preoperative Risk Assessment. eBook version features over 40 "Morbidity and Mortality" case discussions and an Interactive Quesiton Bank with nearly 900 questions Now with the print edition, enjoy the bundled interactive eBook edition, which can be downloaded to your tablet and smartphone or accessed online and includes features like: Complete content with enhanced navigation Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that pull results from content in the book, your notes, and even the web Cross-linked pages, references, and more for easy navigation Highlighting tool for easier reference of key content throughout the text Ability to take and share notes with friends and colleagues
Publication Date: 2016-12-13
The Fundamentals of SURGICAL INSTRUMENTS by Steve MoutreyThis book provides a sound introduction to surgical instrumentation, including their recognition, use and care. It provides useful information that is essential for operating department practitioners, nurses, scrub practitioners, surgeons under training, surgical technologists, junior doctors and medical students.