Cite Sources
CVTC Library Services
Chicago Style Manual
-
Chicago Manual of Style, 17th Edition
by
Technologies may change, but the need for clear and accurate communication never goes out of style. That is why for more than one hundred years The Chicago Manual of Style has remained the definitive guide for anyone who works with words. In the seven years since the previous edition debuted, we have seen an extraordinary evolution in the way we create and share knowledge. This seventeenth edition of The Chicago Manual of Style has been prepared with an eye toward how we find, create, and cite information that readers are as likely to access from their pockets as from a bookshelf. It offers updated guidelines on electronic workflows and publication formats, tools for PDF annotation and citation management, web accessibility standards, and effective use of metadata, abstracts, and keywords. It recognizes the needs of those who are self-publishing or following open access or Creative Commons publishing models. The citation chapters reflect the ever-expanding universe of electronic sources--including social media posts and comments, private messages, and app content--and also offer updated guidelines on such issues as DOIs, time stamps, and e-book locators. Other improvements are independent of technological change. The chapter on grammar and usage includes an expanded glossary of problematic words and phrases and a new section on syntax as well as updated guidance on gender-neutral pronouns and bias-free language. Key sections on punctuation and basic citation style have been reorganized and clarified. To facilitate navigation, headings and paragraph titles have been revised and clarified throughout. And the bibliography has been updated and expanded to include the latest and best resources available. This edition continues to reflect expert insights gathered from Chicago's own staff and from an advisory board of publishing experts from across the profession. It also includes suggestions inspired by emails, calls, and even tweets from readers. No matter how much the means of communication change, The Chicago Manual of Style remains the ultimate resource for those who care about getting the details right.
Call Number: Z253 .U69 2017Publication Date: 2017
Online Resources
- Chicago Manual of Style Citation Quick Guide
The Chicago Manual's quick guide to citations. If you need more information than what is presented here, this is a good place to look next.
- Purdue OWL Chicago Guide
The Purdue Online Writing Lab describes how to create and format notes for a wide range of resources. This is a great place to go if you have any specific questions.
The Chicago Citation Style is used primarily by the humanities and is recognizable because of its use of footnotes or endnotes and Bibliography page. This is the format referred to as the Notes-Bibliography system. Papers using the Chicago style of citation must include a comprehensive list of references, called a Bibliography, at the end. The format of the references in the bibliography is slightly different from that used in the notes.
Using Footnotes and Endnotes:
Chicago style uses footnotes or endnotes to cite sources. Footnotes place the references at the bottom of the page and endnotes place the references at the end of the paper. Unless specified by your teacher or publisher, either option is valid as long as you are consistent.
To create a footnote or endnote:
1. Go to the "References" Tab in Microsoft Word.
2. Click the "Insert Footnote" or "Insert Endnote" button.
Each note will be indicated by a superscript number attached to the reference made in the text. All notes will be created in chronological, numerical order.
Example citation from a fictional author and sources:
The flies should be tenderized prior to baking, or they will be far too tough.1
Superscripts are created in order of their appearance in the text. There should be no repetition of numbers; each superscript is unique to the individual quotation or reference.
The Note:
The first time a resource is cited, use a note like this:
1. Ribbit Frog, Experts Guide to Artisanal Fly Cuisine. (Halifax, Imaginary Publishing INC, 1998), 33-34.
Subsequent notes for a previously mentioned resource use a shortened format:
2. Frog, Artisanal Fly Cuisine, 36-37.
Chicago Style Citation Examples
Basic Pattern
- Bibliography: Author. Title. Publication Information.
- In-text Parenthetical Citations: use numbered footnotes or endnotes:1
Citation Tool in Library Search:
-
Use Library Search to help create citations.
-
Find your source in Library Search and use the "Citation" button to automatically format into your preferred style.
-
Always double check auto-generated citations for accuracy!
Chicago Video Tutorials
- Chicago Style Videos
Do you prefer to learn with video demonstrations? Check out Memorial University's awesome videos on citing resources using Chicago style.